We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold your nose for the fishy service”
Review of Catch 35

Catch 35
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch 35 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 451 Restaurants in Naperville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Van Buren
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hold your nose for the fishy service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant many times and unfortunately, the service has gotten a lot worse in the last month. The last two times we were served by an arrogant, loud and overly talkative waitress named Christina. She singlehandedly ruined the experience both times.

On both occasions we were more familiar with menu items and drink specials than her. When we placed out orders, she argued with us about the pricing in both situations. It is rather strange for a waitress to react that way, especially when the customer is correct.

Overall the good is average but with service like this we will take a pass.

Don't recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    81
    35
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“JUST OK”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant routinely gets great reviews so we booked a reservation on a Sunday night since we were in the neighborhood. Our waitress was very attentive and the ambiance was nice but the food did not live up to expectations. One in our party had crab cakes and thought they were very good, I had the whitefish that was served over mashed potatoes, and the third had the mahi mahi. The whitefish presentation was probably described on the menu but I didn't catch it and didn't particularly enjoy it. There was nothing wrong with the whitefish but I prefer it broiled it didn't have much flavor. If I went back I would ask if another cooking method could be used and the potatoes served on the side, but that is me. Since other reviewers routinely give this establishment very good reviews I'd give it another try but order something else and read the menu carefully as to how the fish will be served.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Great bar menu”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A very nice restaurant - it's a toss up between here and Hugo's Frog Bar for me. I tend to like the ambiance at Catch more. They have a great bar menu with excellent specials which is what I tend to go for. To eat in the dining room is more of a special occasion meal, but all the fish is excellent. Have always had excellent wait staff. Half price oyster happy hour is good enough reason to come here regularly, but from the bar menu try the mini lobster rolls - they're great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mja1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK, just OK”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Food was OK, Service was OK, Ambiance was OK. But for a restaurant at this price point we expected something more. There was nothing wrong, but nothing that would make us want to return. Having eaten at the Chicago location, we were disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobtravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“i will be back”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

on 3/12/13 server christina was the best that night had good time . the food was EXCELLENT . THANK YOU to all at catch 35 for good time tony m

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catch 35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing