We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst stay we have ever experienced in a hotel or motel”
Review of Motel 6 Naperville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Naperville
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Naperville
Heartland Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The worst stay we have ever experienced in a hotel or motel”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We experienced the following problems:
1) I am a disabled veteran with blood clots in each lung and requested a no smoking room. When we went into the room, it was very apparent a recent occupant had smoked quite a bit. Taris assigned us another room on the second floor. When I got off the elevator, two people were smoking in the hallway and the room smelled worse than the first room. We ended up taking the room on the first floor. Your house keeping personnel should report smoking in a non-smoking room and some effort should be made to evacuate the smoke.

2) Our room was not made up on two separate days. On another day they took our towels, but only returned one bath towel, one hand towel and no bath mat. Also, three days without supplies. We had to go to the front desk for soap and toilet paper. When we arrived to find the room had not been made up, we went to the desk clerk. All she did was give us your card and offered no solution to rectify our problems.

3) Three people were in the parking lot after midnight. They were drinking beer and were very loud. We had to get up early, so I called the desk to see if they could ask them to quiet down. No one ever answered the phone. Finally, I got dressed, went outside and asked them if they could hold it down a little. They immediately became confrontational. Reasonable efforts should be made by your staff to keep noise levels reasonable for other guests.

4) The breakfast area was routinely out of different things and we would have to go to the desk to ask for milk, yogurt, bagels, etc.

5) Bed was small and uncomfortable, no refrigerator, microwave or comfortable chairs.

This was bare bones with terrible service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BearTrapTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Naperville, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our general manager discussed the issues with you, and we have taken steps to ensure that those problems don't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    54
    44
    53
See reviews for
60
34
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The desk clerk at check in was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable. A good value for the rate we paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Naperville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I cannot stress enough how much I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was originally going to stay at the Days Inn in Naperville, but I am extremely happy I did not make that mistake.

I am a fellow Wyndham employee at the Days Inn in Fond du Lac, WI. Even though they were not able to get me an employee rate, the rate they offered me was still great. The hotel had to be close to sold out, the parking lot was full.

The staff was the best part though. Both the 2nd shift girls were amazing. I would duplicate them if I could! If I ever get back to Naperville, I would not stay anywhere else but here!

Room Tip: 1st floor if you were a non-smoker like me. 127 worked perfect, right next to the fitness center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaysInnFDLGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Naperville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience at our hotel. We take pride in our helpful and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naperville hotels
4.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Chicago Naperville
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago-Naperville
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Naperville - East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Naperville - West
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Naperville
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Naperville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Naperville

Property: Motel 6 Naperville
Address: 1585 Naperville Wheaton Rd, Naperville, IL 60563-1556 (Formerly Travelodge Naperville)
Location: United States > Illinois > Naperville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Naperville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Naperville 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Naperville is conveniently located to Ogden Mall, several golf courses, and museums. Wrigley Field, United Center and all Chicago has to offer is about 25 miles away. We have a coin laundry facility and free Wi-Fi in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Naperville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing