We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy place for lunch”

Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House - Naperville
Reserve with OpenTable
Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House - Naperville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 453 Restaurants in Naperville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Van Buren
Transit: METRA
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Busy place for lunch”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice variety of lunch items that were done very well. The service seemed a little slow but owing to the busy atmosphere and crowd it was not too bad. The outside seating was nice but a bit noisy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernie6197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    145
    53
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Loud Atmosphere and Fair Service”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Atmosphere is very loud and numerous staff walking around and making it difficult to walk through the dinning area without someone bumping into you. Our server was not attentive to our table. When we asked for a lemon wedge for our water; he gave us a blank uncomfortable stare. We asked if that was okay, hesitation then agreeable. When we asked for more butter for the bread, that weird face and response appeared again. We waited a long time between drink order, appetizer order, meal order, dessert order and check. Reservation was at 6:00PM and we left at 10:00PM. Two Chicago cut steaks were ordered medium; one was perfect and second was rare. Steak sent back and he returned with same steak (that had been cut down the middle) it was more medium rare and bled all over the plate which was not appealing. Expected better service and food for the price. Crab cakes and firecracker shrimp were great! Key lime pie was good, average flourless chocolate cake.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Spot in Naperville”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

You can't go wrong with any choice-seafood or steak. Recommend reservations for Friday or Saturday as it can get crowded.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EricNickla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy small plates and more”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I enjoy going to Hugo's about 1/month. We enjoy the atmosphere and when the weather cooperates, sitting outside on their patio is especially nice. We like to order a number of small plates as either our dinner or lunch. They have great salads, soups and their filet sliders are fantastic! Their service is consistently very good too.

So why not a top, excellent rating? When we have ordered full dinners (rather than small plates) it has been hit or miss. I have ordered steaks and sea bass that at times were just OK, but not for the price. We have had family members mention the same thing about their dinners being inconsistent so I don't think it is a random occurrence.

My recommendation is to take advantage of their beautiful bar (or outdoor patio), enjoy the live piano music, excellent service and order small plates, especially their variety of fish and steak sliders, soups and salads. Oh and if you like bread and wine, the bread is THE best and their wine selection is great. It is also more economical to go with small plates, the food is terrific and the atmosphere is wonderful. Get there early to get a seat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love this place, it's great for lunches and dinners, there's also an outdoor patio. The service is always good and the food consistent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House - Naperville also viewed

 

Been to Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House - Naperville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing