We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local restaurant”
Review of Colonial Cafe

Colonial Cafe
Ranked #9 of 22 Dessert in Naperville
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Specialties Breakfast: Variety of Omelettes, Skillets, Benedits, Crepes, French Toast, Pancakes and More! Lunch: Take a bite from our large selection of delicious Sandwiches, Salads and Burgers! Dinner: Try our homestyle dinners including Cheesy Bacon Mac & Cheese, Meatloaf Baked Fresh Daily, Bruschetta Chicken, just to name a few! Ice Cream: Classic Ice Cream Sundaes, scoops, Shakes, and of course the world famous Kitchen Sink! Great for after dinner or just for dessert! **We keep our traditional dishes all year round, but in addition to those we also offer special different options during each season! Catering: We offer a selection of catering options for Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch! Great for parties and meetings. Free Large Party Rooms Available! See your local Colonial Cafe for Fundraising Opportunities
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We eat here fairly often, usually when family is in town, and always enjoy the food. This restaurant is like a family diner and has comfort food entrees that appeal to families and older folks. They also have a great ice cream menu with some great sundaes if you save room. the service is fairly good with a lot of experienced waitresses. They now serve beer as well. There are a lot of families here, some just for ice cream sundaes, including the "kitchen sink" which is a large group sundae.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsalotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Noise was too much.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Besides the high level of noise, it took so long to get breakfast. We ordered eggs, place was not packed but our breakfast took forever.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keekeechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE Neighborhood Spot!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is almost a "Cheers" kind of place. The wait staff is friendly and accommodated and the menu has something for everyone. Good breakfasts, lunches and dinner and a good place to stop for an ice cream treat. It's the first place my friends think of as a place to meet - an institution and a good one.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnieleeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera Nayarit, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Always an Enjoyable Meal!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just love going to Colonial for breakfast or lunch. I've gone there for years and have never been disappointed. The servers are first-rate and are very accommodating. Colonial has excellent breakfast dishes; the kind I'd make at home for a Sunday Brunch if I were entertaining some very special guests.

The lunch and dinner menu has something for everyone. I'm a meat-eater and really enjoy the Reuben and the burgers. Wonderful onion rings can be substituted for the fries for a very small additional charge. I also enjoy things like fish and chips or french fried shrimp and the specialty salads and wraps are very nice. The salads are beautifully arranged on the plate; I especially like the turkey salad.

Then there's the ice cream for which Colonial is famous. All sorts of delicious ice cream creations. Keep it under your hat, but I sometimes see people eating a large ice cream delight for lunch. They must share my attitude; life is uncertain, so sometimes it's best to have dessert first!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elenamex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good variety with convenient location”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Good variety of food but could use more vegan dishes. Ample parking. Friendly service.
Never had to wait to be seated for very long. Menu changes somewhat with the seasons.
Good value for traditional fare.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chibi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonial Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing