We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, fun place to dine and a great business to support”
Review of Meson Sabika

Meson Sabika
Reserve with OpenTable
Meson Sabika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 453 Restaurants in Naperville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: We are located in between West intersection and River road
Transit: The Metra is approximately 1.5 Miles from Meson Sabika.
Description: Meson Sabika is an award-winning Spanish Tapas restaurant that has resided in an 1847 Georgian mansion since 1990. It goes without question, that the restaurant offers an unmatched dining experience. Guests can dine indoors and enjoy the grace and charm reminiscent of a European Villa or can choose to sit outdoors on the terrace while enjoying the ultimate alfresco experience underneath 150-year-old oak trees which cover the estate. Guests will find that each item on the menu offers a taste of Spain. Whether it’s enjoying hot and cold tapas, sangria, an entree or a vintage wine – there’s always a pleasant combination of exceptional food, friendly service, and unique atmosphere where family and friendship can live life in celebration.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience, fun place to dine and a great business to support”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not only does Meson Sabika provide a wonderful Turkey dinner at Thanksgiving for families who might not otherwise have a nice Thanksgiving, all year long to their patrons they serve wonderful Tapas. The stuffed Mushrooms are great, garlic potato salad is our regular and then we try lots of different things from steak, to duck to veggies all cooked into delicious treats. Fun place to go with friends or to celebrate a special occasion. The restaurant is in an Old Mansion and the rooms are romantic and welcoming.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    147
    39
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mid-week Dinner”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Full house o.j. a Wednesday evening was a good sign. We ordered three tapas selections each for a perfect light meal. All were excellent either stuffed peppers and lamb chops particularly good. Fifth star held back for level of noise in the moderately packed bedrooms and limited wine by the glass selections. Would return again.



Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EneljeeSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've only been here once or twice, but have great memories! It was pricey, but a great experience. It's fun to do with a group of friends. Excellent food!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Mediocre Meson”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been to many of the top tier tapas restaurants in Chicago and surrounding area. We have also had tapas in Madrid, Seville, Barcelona and other parts of Spain. We had high expectations for Mason Sabika based on the reviews and we were sadly disappointed. On the plus side, the outdoor patio was quite nice. We had a polite, personable and knowledgeable server, Eddie. He knew and understood the vino list. A small copa de vino list but a decent botella vino list. Especially the extensive vino de Espana. That is where the positive aspects end. We found the food bland, poorly presented and generally mediocre. A great gauge of a tapas restaurants in the USA is their patatas bravas. This was the poorest execution of patatas bravas we have ever experienced. Bland, oily and topped with chunky, shredded manchengo cheese. It was a sad example of patatas bravas. Another example of the quality of a Spanish restaurant is their paella. The bland, dry, flavorless vegetariano paella was only palatable when we took the leftovers home and seasoned it properly. The only saving grace of their tapas menu was the piquillo peppers. We are glad we tried Meson Sabiko so we can now check it off our list and not worry about returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“European Class and Elegance”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wonderful place - especially outdoor dining. Outstanding service, food, and overall experience. Unfortunate that it is located in Naperville.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meson Sabika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing