We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Mundelein/Libertyville Area
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Midwest, USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Jewel”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Yes this property is a bit older but I sincerely doubt that you will find a more dedicated staff and sincere service attitudes in the whole area. We stay here at least once a month for business and the room is always clean, continental breakfast fresh and the service impeccable. The manager, Mr Shah, assistant manager, Brej, and night man, Sid are all professional, kind and service oriented. I highly recommend the facility and breakfast. Great job gentlemen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    89
    42
    16
    26
See reviews for
88
30
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, and were disappointed. The building is old and the rooms are not very clean. There was a reading light on only one side of the queen size bed. There were almost no electrical outlets, and we had to charge cell phones next to the bathroom sink. The smell of smoke was unavoidable, and the desk only could provide one key to the room. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mundelein hotels

Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

It was a satisfactory hotel. The room and bathroom were clean (believe me - once you stay in a hotel with bedbugs you search thoroughly). There were no bugs, no cobwebs, no mold in the bathtub or sink, no dust, clean microwave and fridge. It's not The Ritz. The bedding has been washed many times and is a little worn. But, it’s been washed! The walls have some dents and scratches. There is no pool, no workout room. There's a computer available for public use on a small desk in the hallway on the first floor. But, if you're looking for a decent place to sleep and don't want to spend a fortune - this is it! I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I was searching for something more affordable than the hotels closer to Chicago. Mundelein is a bit off the beaten path, but for a rate like the one I've gotten during my past three stays here, I'll drive the few extra miles - especially for accommodations as nice as what I've gotten here. My room has always been spotless and comfortable, and the employees and management are very friendly. The property is clean and well-maintained - much nicer than a typical Super 8. You can tell that the owners take a lot of pride in this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There are 3 hotels in Mundelein: The Doubletree, the Comfort Inn, and the Super 8. The Super 8 is the cheapest of the three. The reviews of all sounded immaculate, and the only difference was the price, so we picked the Super 8.

We first booked on Hotels.com. But we then received a tip from a relative that we could save more than $100 for the same period had we booked on Super 8's own site. So we canceled our Hotels.com reservation, got a full refund, and booked again on Super 8's site.

The hotel provides the following, which is often important to us as travelers: in-room refrigerator, microwave, safe, iron, and hair dryer. There is a power strip, which is necessary with the growing number of electronic devices people travel with today. Internet access is free, and there is free breakfast.

All staff we dealt with were very accommodating of our special needs.


  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colorknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this Super 8 in Mundelein in September 2011 as it was close to events that we attended that weekend. A more expensive Doubletree and Comfort Inn were close by. We obtained a nightly AARP rate of $56 for room with a king bed.

Issues with the room assigned:
We asked for another room when checking in, but desk clerk said that it (#119) was the only king room available – although we checked in mid-afternoon, had made the reservation more than 2 months in advance directly with Super 8, and the hotel could not have been more than 1/3 full based on hallway traffic, cars in parking lot, and attendees at the free breakfast. This review probably would have been more positive if we had been given a different (fully furnished) room, but at check in, we were told that was for king rooms. It was not until the next day that we observed a fully furnished and decorated queen bed room. If we had known all the deficiencies in room 119 at check in, we could have done with a different room type – at a reduced fee.

1. This hotel promises a refrigerator and safe in every room; our room had neither. We did get a $6 per night discount for lack of refrigerator when we brought this to the attention of the desk clerk after check-in. We did not mention the lack of a safe since we did not need it.

2. All rooms except ours had drapery; ours had very cheap translucent blinds. At night, there was a bright glow through the blinds.

3. The room was next to the vending machines and across from the room that room service uses for room cleanup. The noise from these did not bother us as the a/c fan was noisy even on low. Thankfully, the hotel was not that busy.

4. One of the Super 8 “guarantees” is a curved shower curtain rod; ours was a cheap straight one along with a stained sink top with an old faucet.

5. Our room had neither an upholstered chair or desk lamp that a room down the hall had. It appeared the room we had was one that was used only occasionally as it was only partially decorated. All the furniture was in one end of the room with nothing in the other half. The ironing board was hung on the wall next to the TV cabinet and clothes rack was directly in front of the a/c unit and above the microwave exhibiting the high level of Super 8 interior decorating.

Issues with hotel:
1. At checkout, we were charged $1.50 per day for use of the non-existent safe. We contacted the hotel about the charge after returning home, but received no response. As it took too long to print our invoice at checkout due to apparent printer problems, we did not have time to review the bill in detail as we had to get to the airport.

2. Although we did not need it, their “computer center” was a computer on a desk beside the hallway vending machine with an “out of order” sign on it; looks as if the sign had been there for some time.

3. Super 8’s online reservation system was only partially operational at the time we made the reservation as it would retain a reservation of only one night, not three, so had to resort to phone.

4. On the last night we were approached by 3 or 4 apparently inebriated men in the lobby who tried to be “friendly.” – asked how we were doing, been a long time since they have seen us, etc. This may have been especially disconcerting for a single person as it occurred right in front of the hotel desk clerk. It appeared that these were residents of the hotel, not travelers, possibly spouses of the cleaning staff.

As for positives, the orange juice out of the machine at the free breakfast was better than most and one of the desk clerks was very nice.

At least we did not have to spend much time in it and were happy to leave. Maybe all of these problems caused this Super 8 not to be listed in the current AAA Illinois hotel listing.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor; inspect the room to make sure all the Super 8 "guarantees" are pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our room was clean and quiet. We were impressed by the staff, they are friendly and courteous. We will stay here again when we visit family in Mundelein.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundelein
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#8 of 11 in Gurnee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Mundelein/Libertyville Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mundelein/Libertyville Area

Property: Super 8 Mundelein/Libertyville Area
Address: 1950 S Lake St, Mundelein, IL 60060-4231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Mundelein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mundelein/Libertyville Area 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Mundelein/Libertyville Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Mundelein
Super Eight Mundelein
Mundelein Super Eight
Mundelein Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing