We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Business in the area, but otherwise horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient for Business in the area, but otherwise horrible”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Booked two rooms at this Comfort Inn as we had business in the area. Arrived to be told there was only one room available. We were asked if we could share that room - we are coworkers, not family, so no.
The two rooms eventually were given to us after 20 minutes at the Front Desk, but one was a smoking room that smelled so bad we suspect it made sleeping difficult.
Front Desk was pleasant, and I realize it was not his fault, but not having the rooms we booked available is unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveToTravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortMundelein, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
LiveToTravel999 - Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear of the difficulties you had with your reservations. We appreciate your willingness to alert us to the issues you had. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and customer service. Smoking rooms do pose a challenge for non-smoking guests and we sympathize with your situation. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    71
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
100
37
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed in many Comfort Inn & Suites; there's a quality that I have come to expect when I stay in one of their hotels - but there's not much for me to find favorable about this property.

Quoting from the website:
"From the moment you arrive at Comfort Inn, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs, including:

Clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms
Cozy beds"

This location did not live up to that pledge.

1. Be warned - this hotel does not enforce it's non-smoking policy. The stairwell and my room reeked of smoke. I cut my stay short and checked out early the next morning. I had to wash all of my clothes the next day because I could still smell the smoke.

2. The mattress was HARD. I usually love the comfy beds at Comfort Inns. This was anything BUT comfortable. Additionally - as someone else mentioned, the air conditioning unit was VERY loud - and between cycles, when my unit was quiet, I could hear the units on either side of me. I am not a light sleeper so this was ridiculous.

3. This is an old property that is in desperate need of refurbishing.

4. The side parking lot is pitch black at night; zero lighting - UNSAFE.

5. There was no "helpful staff waiting to welcome" me. On the contrary, no one was at the front desk when I arrived. I waited about 5 minutes when a gentleman came running in the side door to check me in.

6. This was the worst quality of any hotel, any chain, that I have stayed at in many years. (And I travel on business regularly). Normally, I can expect rooms at Comfort Inns & Suites to be large, clean and comfortable. This property didn't meet any of that criteria.

Room Tip: I recommend you stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnappyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortMundelein, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
SnappyG - We are so sorry to hear of your negative experience at our hotel. We will address your concerns with the staff and take corrective action. The hotel is excited to announce that we will be undergoing a property wide renovation early 2013. We are confident that the upgrades the hotel will experience will allow us to fully live up to our pledge for your future stays. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed with wife and 2 children (4 & 2) in a double queen room. Bit tight especially the bathroom. The room needs a refurb but was very clean and functional. WiFi was included as was breakfast and use of gym ( treadmill and weights machine). Also hotel has washer and dryer for a use at a small fee. The thing that made this 4 stars was the service of the staff..absolutely fantastic..very friendly and helpful. Like the title says for the price was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swedgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortMundelein, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments. It is always great to hear that our staff is providing exceptional service. We appreciate your suggestions on ways to improve the design of our guest rooms. We are glad to hear that you found our rates to be competitive in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel was alright, relatively comfortable. Front desk clerks at check in and check out were both not very professional. I called to try and get directions. He immediately picked up the phone and put me on hold, where I stayed for almost 10 minutes until I hung up. I called right back and he answered right away. Makes me wonder how long I would have stayed on hold, if I didn't hang up. At check out, the young lady was being rude and bossy to a gentleman. I certainly hope she was joking with someone she knew. Either way it was very unprofessional to do it in front of guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortMundelein, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Karen,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you have pointed out an area that we can improve upon. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us. Be assured that your issues will be addressed with the front desk staff and strategies to help improve service will be discussed. Thank you for staying with us!

Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Mostly clean, reasonably priced rooms. Stayed for a lacrosse tourney. Close to fields. Predictable, adequate breakfast. Internet spotty. Business center not functional - no Internet, printer didn't work. Front desk staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOZ1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortMundelein, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
LOZ1217 - Thanks for returning to our hotel! We are happy that you appreciate the value our hotel offers. Its great to hear that you experienced great service from our staff too! We are looking into the problems that you pointed out as well. We look forward to seeing you again during your next lacrosse tournament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This Comfort Inn is definitely an older property, but don't let that discourage you. As mentioned by others, the staff here is exceptionally friendly and helpful. I had booked a king suite and upon arrival walked into the "Oriental Escape". In my opinion, the decor is a little over the top, but at the end of the day, all that really matters is cleanliness, comfort and customer service. This hotel delivers the goods. It's also very close to shopping and restaurants. I enjoyed my stay here very much and would likely visit again. I'd like to reiterate that the front desk staff provided great customer service! (If I remember correctly Will was the young man who was very helpful to me on two occasions during my 3 night stay. I appreciated your help and our conversation. Hope you made it to Vegas! Good luck to you!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The front desk crew here really goes out of their way to accommodate their guests. 3/4 of them are friendly, cheerful and always smiling. The other .. just makes the first 3 look even better. :)

I've been staying here for business every week. There was a glitch in reservations one week, and the hotel staff gave ME a thank you card when it was resolved. That doesn't happen often!

I heartily recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: Rooms in the x01-x20 side tend to have better wireless connectivity and speeds than those on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundelein
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Grayslake
Comfort Suites Grayslake
#1 of 1 in Grayslake
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
Address: 517 E Il Route 83, Mundelein, IL 60060-4250 (Formerly Comfort Inn Mundelein)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Mundelein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to multiple business centers with close proximity to O'Hare Airport and I-294. A multitude of activities are in the area that include: Six Flags Great America, Great Lakes Naval, Trinity College, Lake County Fairgrounds. Our staff makes you feel like you are at home with hot popcorn and hot coffee/tea daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Mundelein Hotel Mundelein
Comfort Inn And Suites Mundelein
Comfort Inn Mundelein
Mundelein Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing