We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What I Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly What I Needed”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was in town on business, and this hotel was perfect for my needs. However, if you are looking for a hotel near the town-center or shopping, it might not the best place for you.

I loved the soft bed and large flat-screen TV, the shower was great also. The hotel has a small but modern and functional fitness center.

Overall, this hotel is clean, comfortable and modern, but just a notch or two below fancy. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfselect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. As the title of your response states, I am glad we were able to give you - "exactly what you needed."

Although we are 2.7 miles from the shopping mall, we do have shuttle service that runs on weekdays to nearby areas. We look forward to your return in the future.

Also, I will be sure to read this response to our housekeeping team, to thank them for the hard work they put into the property daily.

Regards,
Kip Stehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    188
    58
    28
    5
See reviews for
191
84
25
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel lobby is very warm and inviting. The room was very comfortable. My reserved room was not ready and I had to either wait or accept a different quality room. My key did not work, however, the service was efficient in resolving this issue. The food is extremely good. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear John,

I am so pleased to see your positive review posted. Thank you for taking the time to write feedback that informs others the type of experience they can expect when visiting our Chicagoland property. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with your key and the room not being ready upon your arrival, however from your response, it appears that my team was able to handle this situation effectively. I will be sure to compliment them on their efforts. We look forward to inviting you back in the near future.

Regards,
Kip Stehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hotel is situated nicely to many conveniences. Nice lobby and restaurant, plus a friendly staff. Overall a good stay though I thought the furniture was a bit outdated and could have been more in line with the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jill M. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jill,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our hotel in Mundelein. Our service team will take great joy in learning that they impacted another guest in a positive way!

We are constantly updating our look for our guests, as we recently completed a bathroom renovation for all of our guestrooms.

We hope to see you in the future!

Regards,
Kip Stehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, il, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. I have stayed at the Doubletree before and was very satisfied so we chose thie chain again. There are no complaints on our part and we hope to have others experience the comfort that we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for your positive review. Our leadership team takes great pride in our traveler experience and our Director of Housekeeping has worked tirelessly for the past 16 years, making a huge impact in the hotel as we are one of the cleanest properties within the brand.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Kip Stehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I come here every year and I am never disappointed. They are always very nice when me I check in and always have a room that accommodates my preferences. The rooms are big and clean which is very nice when you have driven so far and want to just relax. The front desk clerk always gives great recommendations for restaurants. I haven't tried Karma yet but I plan on trying it this year when I am there. Like I said before, I come here every year and I wouldn't ever pick a different hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Justin,

Thank you for your amazing review. We appreciate the time taken to recognize the efforts our team takes in order for our guests to have an enjoyable experience.

Best Regards,
Kip Stehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The rooms are nice and clean and the Karma restaurant has good food. However, there is a severe lack of customer service. They are not as welcoming as they should be. Also, essential services such as the computer and printer in the business office do not work. The shuttle service is not very flexible for anything other than business and the hotel temperature is too hot every where outside the rooms. Over all I slept well, but the staff were sub par. I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Shawn,

Thank you for providing feedback. Customer Service is the most important part of what we do and why our overall reviews are what they are. We are in the process of retraining our team as we have had a recent change in leadership. I would love to invite you back to the property and ensure that you were taken care of, personally. Feel free to contact me directly - kip.stehling@hilton.com.

Regards,
Kip Stehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Can't turn on the shower without getting in the shower and getting cold and wet - I'm 5'10" and my arms are normal length but I couldn't get close to the shower handle to turn it on - and the shower head had almost no travel to avoid getting cold and wet. This is simply a design flaw - aesthetics over functionality! The facility is otherwise OK - but it should be for the cost!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We did just go through a renovation of the bathrooms, and I understand your difficulty with the showerhead. The bathroom layout was difficult to implement with the original design of the property and placement of the pipes. Our housekeeping team does their best to angle the showerhead away from the entry door. I will ensure we revisit this process with our team. If there is any other feedback that you could provide, I would be happy to address personally - kip.stehling@hilton.com

Regards,
Kip Stehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundelein
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
Address: 510 E Il Route 83, Mundelein, IL 60060-4237 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Mundelein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Libertyville - Mundelein, in Mundelein, Illinois, a northwest Chicago suburb. Convenient to US-45 and IL-94, and only 45 minutes north of O’Hare International Airport (ORD), our hotel offers personal and engaging service. Enjoy our signature, warm chocolate chip cookie at welcome.Savor phenomenal dishes and urban ambiance at Karma Asian Food & Fine Wine. Admire the Prairie-style decor featuring one-of-a-kind stained glass front doors and solid hardwood furniture. Our glass-enclosed pool is open year round, and the fully equipped fitness center is available 24 hours a day.Choose from 183 guest rooms in standard or deluxe styles or with two-room suite options. Relax in a king-, queen- or double-sized bed and enjoy complimentary WiFi, premium channels on a 42-inch flat-screen HDTV, a refrigerator and a rain forest shower head.Host a wedding on our landscaped courtyard or coordinate a casual barbecue on the patio. Our 8,350 sq. ft. ballroom divides into eight rooms, each accommodating up to 70 people. Reserve the full ballroom for a gala for 450 guests or a conference for 500 colleagues. We also provide two additional meeting rooms, one boardroom, banquet catering, and A/V and videoconferencing services.Take advantage of our business center to connect with potential clients. Motorola Mobility, Baxter, Sysmex America, Grainger, Aon Hewitt, HSBC, Tetra Pak and Zebra Technologies are located within five miles of our hotel. Ride our complimentary shuttle to their businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Libertyville - Mundelein Hotel Mundelein
Crowne Plaza Mundelein
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mundelein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing