We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing Some Age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Showing Some Age”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I recently spent one night at the DobuleTree in Mundelein on a business trip. When we entered the hotel they had available some free wine, cheese and crackers. Thought that was a very nice gesture. The check-in gals were very nice and polite. Received a warm chocolate chip cookie once check in was complete. The hotel is close to being in need of some upgrading. There was dated wall paper everywhere and a lot of wood work that was from the 80's. My room was clean and big enough but like the rest of the hotel, it was in need of some updating. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Overall, an average property with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGB5620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    179
    56
    28
    4
See reviews for
178
80
25
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here while in the area though colleagues were staying at another hotel. More reasonably priced and certainly reputable. Staff was very courteous and, though I was only there for a single night, they made me feel appreciated.

Only downside is the odd configuration, layout and furniture of the room. See pics but I had a hard time understanding why they'd have two extra large ranch-style chairs dominating the room between the bed and television. Completely unnecessary. Personally, I'd appreciate more space than to be dominated by more unorthodox furniture.

Besides that, very comfortable. I didn't notice if there were non-street side rooms available as the middle of the night traffic outside was noticeable through the windows.

Great price for the room, plus a nice desk space, made this a place I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
320 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in late September as out of town wedding guests. We paid the wedding block rate of $99 @ night + tax). All facilities were advertised and acceptable. The check in process included a warm cookie but no map of the facility - resulting in parking further away from our room than necessary & a long schlep with luggage. The attached restaurant is "Japanese" but not really. The food was overpriced and not good. Breakfast - we skipped the hotel breakfast (breakfast was not included on the room rate) and ate @ a great pancake house around the corner. One more note - this hotel is the only hotel this reviewer had ever visited that did not have a Do Not Disturb card on the door. There is a small button on the dark side of the door inside the room which you press to indicate Do Not Disturb or Service Please. This button was practically invisible - I had to talk to the front desk to find out the procedure for Do Not Disturb. When I did find the button, it was partially broken. Overall, I got value for my $ with a few unpleasant surprises.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoutMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Based on reviews I was expecting a pleasant stay at this property. However, when went to check-in at stated time of 3pm I was told room wouldn't be ready for an hour. Since had booked the room to get ready for a late afternoon wedding this was certainly a major inconvenience. An hour later the room still wasn't ready-had not even started cleaning it. I was told they had had a full house the night before and were running behind on housekeeping. When my room was finally available 20 minutes later(quick cleaning I guess) I was told there were no towels yet because "they are still in the dryer". Since we were booked as part of a wedding block this is really unacceptable-half the reason we booked here was to have time to get ready for the wedding. Only after I complained did they offer any compensation(free breakfast which couldn't use since wedding hosts were providing breakfast-subsequently knocked about a 1/3 off the cost of the room). Halls and room looked dated,worn and not spotlessly clean. Bed comfort was average at best. Overall disappointing stay for a Doubletree. Seems there are few options in Mundelein but next time I would stay in another suburb rather than stay here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues regarding the later check-in time with our staff. We also apologize for the lack of towels as well as the below standards cleanliness and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed there on a business trip using a rate negotiated by a company that we visited. The actual rate was a bit higher than negotiated and the breakfast not free. Our host asked how the hotel was and I commented that the breakfast was great but expensive. He had his assistance call the hotel and within a short time, we had a visit by some hotel staff. They took care of the breakfast charge and fixed the other charge. I thought that this went over and beyond what was required, and I was quite impressed. Now, the hotel is nice, but the AC/heating system is a bit noisy but mainly white noise. However, the system kept the room very comfortable and not dry. Also, the bed was very comfortable. I would suggest a night light in the bathroom and some information regarding the reception and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. It was recommended by my hosts. The check in was quick and easy and the staff were very friendly. The free cheese and wine being served in the evening at the reception area was a very nice touch.
The room was very spacious which one expects from the States. My room had two Queen size beds, with ample space and was very clean.
I did not eat at the hotel but I wished I had when I saw the Asian food being served. I did have a drink in the very modern bar which was in total contrast to the wooden lodge stay of the hotel. The bar staff were also very friendly and attentive.
On the whole a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place is absolutely gorgeous! Its seemed a bit out of place with its ski resort exterior and lobby in the middle of the Northern Chicago Suburbs but it made the place feel like an amazing get away! I was just there for a wedding and it felt like a resort vacation! The pool is amazing it has the feel of an outdoor pool as it is entirely enclosed in glass but as its enclosed its perfect for the climate and year around swimming!! Every time I had a request the staff was prompt and very pleasant! I did not eat there however so I can not speak to the room service or restaurant but I believe there was a breakfast buffet. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundelein
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
Address: 510 E Il Route 83, Mundelein, IL 60060-4237 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Mundelein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Libertyville - Mundelein, in Mundelein, Illinois, a northwest Chicago suburb. Convenient to US-45 and IL-94, and only 45 minutes north of O’Hare International Airport (ORD), our hotel offers personal and engaging service. Enjoy our signature, warm chocolate chip cookie at welcome.Savor phenomenal dishes and urban ambiance at Karma Asian Food & Fine Wine. Admire the Prairie-style decor featuring one-of-a-kind stained glass front doors and solid hardwood furniture. Our glass-enclosed pool is open year round, and the fully equipped fitness center is available 24 hours a day.Choose from 183 guest rooms in standard or deluxe styles or with two-room suite options. Relax in a king-, queen- or double-sized bed and enjoy complimentary WiFi, premium channels on a 42-inch flat-screen HDTV, a refrigerator and a rain forest shower head.Host a wedding on our landscaped courtyard or coordinate a casual barbecue on the patio. Our 8,350 sq. ft. ballroom divides into eight rooms, each accommodating up to 70 people. Reserve the full ballroom for a gala for 450 guests or a conference for 500 colleagues. We also provide two additional meeting rooms, one boardroom, banquet catering, and A/V and videoconferencing services.Take advantage of our business center to connect with potential clients. Motorola Mobility, Baxter, Sysmex America, Grainger, Aon Hewitt, HSBC, Tetra Pak and Zebra Technologies are located within five miles of our hotel. Ride our complimentary shuttle to their businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Libertyville - Mundelein Hotel Mundelein
Crowne Plaza Mundelein
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mundelein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing