We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ribs”

Gale Street Inn-Diamond Lake
Ranked #58 of 107 Restaurants in Mundelein
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great place, still like the first locatiuon on the lake, but food is just as good. Nice self service salad bar with great attentive staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    14
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,008 reviews
1,304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,180 helpful votes
“Boring food & boring atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here again (see my other reviews of Gale Street Inn). We both ordered the ½ slab of ribs with the salad bar. The ribs were just ok; they definitely contained no “wow” factor. The salad bar was just mediocre and a bit bland and tasteless. Service was very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Come for the atmosphere and stay for the ribs!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Came here for my sister's birthday - the ribs were fall off the bone, saucey, yummy, meaty - probably the best ribs I have ever eaten. Rest of the food looked really good based on what was served to our table. Great place for parties, lots of room to entertain, drink, chat and have a great time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GingerGirl7271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always consistant and an incredible staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I went here on Sunday with two of my girlfriends and we had a great time. We were greeted with a big hello by the hostess, and quickly served by our waitress. We all had ribs that just melted in our mouths. The salad bar was also a big hit with us too. Unfortunately, they're no longer accross the street but they've done a great job with the space that they have. It was also nice that the hostess stopped by our table to see how everything was. I don't see that anymore at alot of restaurants. But all in all between great ribs and a terrific server, I believe her name was Ana, we had a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Depends on when you go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We always enjoy the patio that's right across from Diamond Lake. We really like the server Tim, who is always so nice to us, but when we went this last Tuesday, the hostess was downright unfriendly and our service was lousy (Tim wasn't there) even though it wasn't busy at all. They have changed the menu and took off the lamb chops which were always my favorite. Prices are a little steep and why do restaurants persist in charging more for sharing a dinner? I ordered the pork chops which were pretty dry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beejust53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gale Street Inn-Diamond Lake also viewed

Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 
Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 
Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 

Been to Gale Street Inn-Diamond Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing