We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Potential”
Review of Las Palmas Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Las Palmas Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Has Potential”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

A colleague and I were in the area on business the week prior to Cinco de Mayo, as it happens, and looking for a place to have dinner. We passed by Las Palmas where the parking lot was packed. We figured it must be good so we stopped. The food was adequate and hot. Service was very good. The decor outside needs a serious upgrade. Love the idea they're going for but an update is in order.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“always good food and pleasant service”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a good restaurant -- not a great restaurant, but the food is always good, hot and pleasantly served. The menu is extensive, and the drinks, while a bit on the pricey side for my tastes, are nicely prepared. Live music is presented on the weekends, I think..check before you go if you've heard the gringo's Mexican favorites enough. The food is plentiful...plates are full with rice, beans, and your choice..I'm a fan of their flautas, tacos (of course) and enchiladas. Service is exceptionally prompt and attentive...from the basket of warm chips to the entrees. It's a pleasant place -- that word again! - for lunch or dinner, absolutely dependable in terms of food quality, and exceptionally family friendly. Go. Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2jbsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
198 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OK Mexican food”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Average at best.

Food is OK, but there is nothing about this establishment that would make you want to go out of your way to get to return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,018 reviews
1,314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,188 helpful votes
“Done eating here, el fin”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Directions:
Rte. 60/83 & Diamond Lake Road

My wife and I had dinner here and we both thought it was below average Mexican food. We found the food to be bland, boring, and was not even warm. We previously had several bad experiences at Las Palmas Naperville and we were hoping that Las Palmas Mundelein would be better.

Based on four bad experiences at Las Palmas we are done eating here. We have since found a great place for Mexican food called Tacos El Norte which has several locations in the Chicagoland area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best Mexican I've had in the area”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Now ... I can't say I've tried all the Mexican places in the area (there are many). But of those I've tried, this is tops. Ingredients taste super fresh, which I can't say about most Mexican restaurants. I had a combo dinner. Portions were generous, taste was good, food was hot.

Our server was also good. Drawback was that it was a Saturday night, and there was an Elvis impersonator (!), so it was very noisy. It seems like it would be good for drinks or a larger party, but not for a quieter dinner with a date (at least not on Saturdays). Other than that, I can't say enough good things. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SushiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palmas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 
Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing