We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned goodness”

Greg's Frozen Custard
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Mundelein
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Old fashioned goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Greg's has the best treats...sundaes, cones, etc. Walk up windows to order and they have lots of tables and benches for outdoor seating.Great family place!

Kim

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“There is a reason it's rated #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I visit Mundelein in the summer every year and one of the first places to stop, with a few hundred of my friends, is Greg's Frozen Custard. Its simply the best. Not wonder they only work six months a year

Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best frozen custard around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We love Greg's for a frozen treat! Their turtle sundaes are awesome...and a mini-turtle is just enough to satisfy without killing your diet! Fun atmosphere, too, with their oldies soundtrack playing in the background.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teriyakijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OMG to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great smooh flavorful custards; not waxy tasting like the franchise hamberger place. We are big fans of their pistachio. The have a special flavor each day, but you can also purchase by the pint. We stock up over the winter, because they're closed. Also can't forget to mention the diner drive in theme. We have fun playing name that artist when a new song starts playing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolas1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ridiculous. That's what I thought when I drove out of Greg's with a frozen custard cone in one hand and the steering wheel in the other. What? I've lived in this area forever and never been to or knew of Greg's? How could that be? This is real frozen custard. Do NOT confuse it with Dairy Queen - heaven forbid - or even to Culver's which is close, but no cigar. This frozen custard is the kind of sweet that doesn't leave you overwhelmed with rich sugariness. It has body like soft ice cream. But don't call this soft serve. That's something else.

Then there's the flavors. Vanilla and chocoate everday, duh. And a fresh favor of the day or take almost anyone of them home from their freezer. Bring your cooler and ice packs and load up. See the link to their flavor calendar (what, you think they really have a website? Fogeddaboudit.)

OK, it doesn't hurt that Greg's is also a throwback. It's from the flying saucer school of drive-in architecture. Greg's is "only" 12 years old. But I'm guessing the building is recycled. Nevertheless, it somehow makes the custard taste better as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flatlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greg's Frozen Custard also viewed

 
Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 
Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 

Been to Greg's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing