We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff made the stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, IL.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The staff made the stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was one of the friendliest hotels I have ever been in. Every staff member I encountered spoke to me and smiled. I remember thinking that the lady at the front desk should be doing training for the chain. The room was exactly as reserved and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. I will go stay at this hotel again when I am in the Mt. Vernon area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis_bruce, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate to hear how we are doing. We look forward to your future stays at the Hampton Inn Mt Vernon Il
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    131
    56
    29
    9
See reviews for
159
132
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We met family at this hotel last weekend. The hotel kind of had a smell to it. Also, the room was pretty dated. The comforter was lumpy. The paint was chipped on the soap holder in the shower. The hotel was clean, but definitely could use a little TLC. The breakfast was decent. The kids enjoyed the pool. The service overall was just kind of average also. I just have feelings on this hotel either way. It would work in a pinch, but wouldn't really recommend it or go out of my way to stay again. We may try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busymomof2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our only complaint about this hotel was that one of our reading lamps by the bed was broken. I told them about it when we left. Comfortable beds, clean throughout, nice amenities in the bathroom. It also had a pretty decent complimentary breakfast with waffles, eggs (I think?), fresh fruit, toast, oatmeal & cereals. We were only there one night, but all in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Mount Vernon Hampton is well located, staff friendly and very clean. The lady at the check-in desk remembered my reservation and call me by name when I arrived. Nice touch!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egreer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
120 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel passing through the area. The person at the front desk was very nice. She made you feel welcomed after traveling most of the day. I had two complaints with this hotel. First, I was disappointed with the breakfast. My wife and I decided to go the local McDonalds for breakfast. Second, our room was over the pool. You could smell chlorine in the room as soon as you opened the door. In a couple of hours, I must have gotten use to the smell. Next time I travel through the area, I think I will try another hotel. There are plenty to chose from.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saturndriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I found the Hampton Inn in Mount Vernon Illinois to be a good choice for the night as we traveled west on I-64. We were pleased with our king room and were appreciative of the cleanliness of the room and the bath area. The front desk had mentioned a "social hour" that evening. It was so nice to relax in the lobby with a glass of wine & some tasty appetizers after a long drive that day. A plus for this Hampton Inn since most Hampton chains don't think of this little extra! The continental breakfast the next morning was well stocked with lots of choices including hot items.

We recommend this Hampton Inn as an excellent choice for a stay in Mount Vernon, Illinois!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemlwmtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have never stayed at a Hampton Inn before. This was our first experience and it was a great one! There were fresh cookies when we walked in to check in (but not chocolate chip to my son's dismay). The staff was courteous. The bed was comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. The pool was great and the hot tub was, too. The breakfast had great options (everything from fresh fruit to cereal to waffle makers to biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs). There was a fitness room that we didn't use, but the equipment looked nice and in good condition. The rooms were quiet and by that I mean that they seemed well-insulated. There wasn't any noise from the hall or the adjacent rooms.

A couple of drawbacks that were relatively minor:
The TV was kind of hard to control, but it was a nice TV (widescreen HDTV) with many channels to choose from.
The water in the shower was HOT! It was hard to figure out where to dial up the shower so you wouldn't get scalded.

We will be making yearly trips to the area and this is where we would like to stay again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShansMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon

Property: Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Address: 221 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, IL hotel is located just 15 minutes from the Mount Vernon Airport, surrounded by beautiful scenery and delectable restaurants. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Mount Vernon
Hampton Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing