We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is Where We Will Stay When We Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Griffith, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Is Where We Will Stay When We Go Back”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have never stayed at a Hampton Inn before. This was our first experience and it was a great one! There were fresh cookies when we walked in to check in (but not chocolate chip to my son's dismay). The staff was courteous. The bed was comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. The pool was great and the hot tub was, too. The breakfast had great options (everything from fresh fruit to cereal to waffle makers to biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs). There was a fitness room that we didn't use, but the equipment looked nice and in good condition. The rooms were quiet and by that I mean that they seemed well-insulated. There wasn't any noise from the hall or the adjacent rooms.

A couple of drawbacks that were relatively minor:
The TV was kind of hard to control, but it was a nice TV (widescreen HDTV) with many channels to choose from.
The water in the shower was HOT! It was hard to figure out where to dial up the shower so you wouldn't get scalded.

We will be making yearly trips to the area and this is where we would like to stay again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShansMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    140
    65
    30
    9
See reviews for
172
140
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at this Hampton Inn with my parents and two small children while traveling from Chicago to Florida. The hotel was easy to find and the check-in process was painless. I had asked for a crib for my son and it was a pack and play type thing waiting in the room when we arrived. The hotel had an indoor pool, a primary reason for us staying there so my son could enjoy some play time. The pool was deserted but extremely clean and had good clean towels for us to use, if a bit small. The hotel offered a evening happy hour and gave me about 6 tickets for free drinks. The drinks were small but it didn't matter since they were free. There seemed to be lots of groups of people staying at the hotel, but everyone was very friendly and considerate. Our room was clean and tidy and even though the hotel seemed almost full, we never heard anyone else while we were in the room. The breakfast in the morning offered many choices, including scrambled eggs, waffles, fresh fruit and sausage and everything was extremely tasty and clean. I asked for directions to a local pharmacy and the young trainee at the desk gave me general, but good enough, directions to the more retail-centric area of town. Overall, I would definitely put this hotel on my list should I ever find myself in Mount Vernon again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahavakamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
245 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at this location on our way to family vacation. The staff were helpful but a little slow in getting people checked in at the desk.

No real complaints, typical of a Hampton the rooms were nice and the property clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
698 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

PROS: Easy access from the interstate. Close by several chain restaurants and gas station. Ample lighted parking. Plentiful cookies at the lobby. Indoor pool with sauna. Hot breakfast. Gym had 4 equipments in there along with water dispenser. It also overlooked the swimming pool. Nice modern lobby. Flat screen TV. Enough lights in the room. Bigger ref in the king suite with pull out sofa bed. Ample drawers,tables and chairs. Numerous cable channels. Easy internet connectivity. Digital thermostat. Always available hot water in lobby.
CONS: Only 1 elevator and stairs are at each end of the building. Dark bathroom.No free weights in the gym. Mini closet and coffee maker. No pillows in the closet for the pull out sofa. Waited 30 minutes for the pillows and I had to pick it up myself from the front desk instead of being delivered.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I love Hampton Inns but I have to say that the lady at the front desk was very slow in checking in. She kept getting a bunch of personal phone calls interrupting her from focusing checking in the customers in front of her. Finally I went to the computer in the hotel and made my own reservation so all she had to do was check me in.

Lesson to any hotel manager reading this when a customer is tired and just needs a night sleep have someone who understand and can move fast.

Also this hotel does not have wireless internet, what hotel in 2011 does not have wireless hotel? I'm a business traveler that expects more from Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ester999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We have stayed at this Hampton Inn several times and always found it to be a pleasant stay. It is very conveniently located at the intersection of two interstate highways, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast, since everything tasted fresh and was replenished frequently. The breakfast room attendant did a great job, and the breakfast room is large enough to accommodate all the guests. At some other Hamptons where we've stayed, the breakfast has occasionally seemed neglected. This is not so here. The management should be congratulated on it's friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

If you plan to have a comfortable bed, helpful staff, clean room where you do not need to spray Lysol in every nook and cranny and need a quiet, comfortable atmosphere, then stay here. I always stay at this location when I travel to Mt. Vernon, which is usually every month. The only down side to this property is there is not a place to order food on the premesis. They do serve a hot breakfast, have two complimentary cocktails throughout the week at the end of the business day, fresh coffee, and a fireplace in the lobby. There are many places to eat within walking distance and it is right off of the interstate. They do have a 100% guarantee but chances are, you will never use it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmt1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
#8 of 14 in Mount Vernon
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon

Property: Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Address: 221 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, IL hotel is located just 15 minutes from the Mount Vernon Airport, surrounded by beautiful scenery and delectable restaurants. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Mount Vernon
Hampton Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing