We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was very skeptical of staying here because of the previous reviews but I will have to say that I have no complaints. The room was clean and the bed was ok. In the morning he hallway was super hot which was weird but all in all it was an ok stay. I will mention that I did not try the breakfast area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank cropsclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the first time in 1982. Over the last 31 years, I've probably stayed here 50 times. Yes, it's older, but my last stay on 7/15 was a pleasant surprise. Rooms have been updated a bit, bed was very comfortable, and it has a real bar. The hotel is on the way back up. In the 1980's this was a magnificent hotel. In 2013, it's like an old friend getting a little long in the tooth and graying at the temples. If you want the Hampton/Fairfield/HI Express vanilla experience, then go there. Want a decent meal, a drink at the bar, and something other than oatmeal for breakfast? Give it a try. In all fairness, though, they need to clean the elevators - I couldn't identify the smell, but shouldn't have to.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank gtherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear gtherm,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel and for always choosing to stay with us. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stays with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is sometimes difficult to find a room to hold our family of 5, including 3 preteens. And, I have to admit I haven't haven't had good luck with Holiday Inns in the past, but this location was a surprise. We were traveling through this area and our first choice was booked. We asked here and they had a "suite," which was actually two connected rooms refashioned to be a living area with a pull out couch and a bedroom. It was very new looking and clean. The common areas have been refurbished nicely, although I was a little worried before I got to the actual room because the hallways were a little warm. The breakfast was free and tasty. It was a little more than we had hoped to pay, but it was a big space and overall, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommonicaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stay at Holiday Inn whenever I can. I trust the brand to be consistent, clean, never outdated. This Holiday Inn, not so much.

It was clean. The hotel itself looked nice. The staff were great.

BUT the Internet was messed up. Internet would only let me check e-mail. Would not load any Web pages. (The trouble was not on my end, as I stay in hotels frequently and have never had that problem.) Water pressure in the shower was bad; water drain even worse. When I left, about an hour after I took a shower, the water was still stuck in the tub.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Anna B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. I am glad that you liked our staff and you found our hotel clean. However, we regret your stay was negatively impacted by the challenges you experienced regarding the internet service. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is just okay. If you get the same rate as 2 star hotels, go ahead and book it. The beds are comfortable and the rooms (ours was at the very end of 4th flr corridor) quiet. The pool is average. Could have done without the dead birds on the patio next to the pool though--saw them at 4pm and then still there at 10 am the next day. Forget the breakfast. It was horrible. Where do I even start? Very crowded but that's to be expected on Sunday. All three coffee pots were empty and had to summon surly employee to replace them. Scrambled eggs were the only hot entree and tasted powdery--we actually couldn't eat them after the first bite. There were no sugar packets to be found. No oatmeal (pretty standard fare, don't you think?) Bread for the toaster and sugary danish but no muffins or bagels (again, pretty standard fare elsewhere). To add insult to injury, the surly employee demanded our room number as we were eating. I get that they have to make sure people don't come in off the street to avail themselves of free breakfast but there is a nicer way to ask. And believe me, once someone tastes the food, they won't sneak in again. All in all, our stay was okay but certainly not worth the extra money HI charges for its brand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Lara F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are deeply sorry for the over-all issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stopped on way through from IL to TN for one night. Front desk service was fine. Room was large and spacious. Building was old and need refurbishing, low ceilings in high. Tile missing in lobby. Elevator carpet gross, dirty and worn. Bed uncomfortable! Mattresses very old. Breakfast buffet limited. Breakfast servers impolite and lacked people skills. Stayed in worse places, but if had options would not stay here again. And there are a lot of options at this exit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenB2boyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear KarenB2boyMom,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the unusual condition of our hotel fell below your expectations. We also apologize for the issues you had with your bed and our breakfast selections and service was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lobby was clean and spacious. The desk clerk acted like I was interrupting her snacking and wasn't very welcoming. The hotel seemed to be busy but not a lot of people noise. The room was clean, bed very comfortable and everything in the room worked. Got a good nights sleep. In the morning I was looking for a place outside to read. I asked the desk clerk and the only place she could think of was the benches outside the front door but there is a nice patio behind the the hotel with table and chairs although some of them hadn't been clean from the night before. With good coffee from the breakfast this was a nice place to spend time while my wife slept. The pool changing room is not very nice and is in need of some significant care. The lobby rest rooms were clean.
The area around the hotel seemed safe with some trees in the back. Easy on and off from the Interstate. There was a fair number of restaurants not to far from the hotel and did get a good recommendation from the staff.
Rate $124 and a decent value. Would stay here again but the staff needs some training on how to make the guest feel important.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Joseph N,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are glad you liked the lobby and the room you had. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with our facilities and the service you received. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6750
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: $65 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing