We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodging - Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
210 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Lodging - Good Value”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very nice property and a great value. We travel quite a bit and have stayed in every level of lodging from two through four stars. Large, bright lobby and multi-function area. Our room was clean, comfortably and nicely decorated. Our only complaint had to do with the free breakfast. It would be nice if there was "hot water" available for tea and oatmeal. As for the cold cereal choidces, it was all "kid" cereals. Include a few more choices for adults like bran flakes, oats, etc. Also, the young woman taking care of the breakfast area looked and sounded unhappy. She might have been having a bad day personally - so you need to give people the benefit of the doubt. Yes, we realize the breakfast is free, but other lodgings (including Holiday Inn Express) do a better job of food items. Still, the breakfast area was large nd bright. We'd return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrot434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    73
    50
    22
See reviews for
83
64
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, KY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything is old. Like stepping back in time 30years. Huge, old hotel. Check in took longer than normal, seemed to use antiquated system and as platinum with aaa member, I was quoted 96 but overheard someone else offered 79 while I was checking in even though I asked for lowest available rate. Furniture in rooms at least 20 years old, and although they added flat TV, it looks awkward with using same stand for usual tv before. Areas especially elevator smelled overly smoky. Breakfast was sad, and previous reviewers are right that they just don't keep food replenished and you either wait or give up. Not even bagels. Just worn down, and fits more w quality inn brand. I'll stay at Hampton across street next time. Definetly poor compared to what is expected and normal for holiday inn. This is exactly the type of hotel brand is trying to get rid of with major investment in holiday inn brand, now that holiday inn express is successfull.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank debatecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear debatecoach,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. I would like to apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay with us especially with the level of service received during check in, food served as well as the condition of the property which was less than satisfactory. I appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

We value you as our Priority Club Rewards Member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The rooms were very nice and clean. Hotel lobby very nice. Pool and jacuzzi area were nice except they don't seem to enforce the adults only in the jacuzzi. We ate at the sports bar and the food was sreally good. My boyfriend had ribs and I had pulled pork. Perfectly done baked potato and good selection of beer at the bar. Front desk staff were helpful and check in was very quick. Probably the quickest of any hotel I've stayed before. The only complaint I have is with the breakfast option. I paid extra for two breakfasts when I booked the room. I asked the front desk what that breakfast entailed and they didn't seem to know anything until I kept explaining I paid extra for two breakfasts and then they suddenly gave me a paper for $20 worth of breakfast that you can order off the menu. The waitress was the worst server I have had in all my life. She didn't seem to know anything about the menu and when we asked what she thought was good, she said, nothing, I am so sick of this menu. I couldn't believe it. We ordered a breakfast burrito and a waffle and both were really good. You can also eat items off the continental breakfast which is provided for free. The waitress brought out the food and said nothing and did not bring us silverware or napkins. I actually had to go to the continental breakfast line and get silverware and the they were out of napkins. This girl should not be in the serving business.

One thing I would like to note but didn't matter much was that I reserved a pet friendly room with a king sized bed with a mini fridge (the email noted this). When we arrived they said there are not pet friendly rooms with king sized beds only 2 queen beds, and we had no mini fridge. Also reservationist said the breakfast option I purchased was for a full buffet, which is not the case. Possibly national reservationist should know this before sending confirmation via email.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ang3369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We usually stay at a competing hotel chain, but found that it was completely booked the night we were passing through Mt. Vernon. We had been traveling for several days and were exhausted, so saw this Holiday Inn and decided to check it out. My husband went in to see one of the rooms and came back to the car and suggested we stay. Wow! What a pleasant surprise!!! Our room was spacious, clean, well appointed, had a comfy mattress, and was reasonably priced!!! Plus, there was a quaint restaurant attached to the facility so we did not have to go out in the cold to have dinner. Food was good and service friendly. We have made a note in our travel journal to stay here next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently spent one night at this hotel as part of a conference I was attending. Even though the building is a bit older, it was very clean, the rooms clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable, giving me a restful night. I would definitely spend the night there again!

Room Tip: There is currently tons of construction in I-57 adjacent to the hotel, so plan your exit strategy ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJohn1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn at Mt. Vernon. The lobby was beautifully furnished. Included was a double sided fireplace. It also had a piano that I am sure someone played during certain hours.The breakfast area was spacious and had plenty of food to choose from. The breakfast was included with the room. My room had a king size bed that was very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is right off the highway and geared towards the driving traveler. The exit includes restaurants, gas, and a number of other hotels all in close proximity to the Holiday Inn. This allows for competitive pricing for what is likely to be a short stay.

Like other reviewers, we were on a cross country drive. We checked in at 1:30 am and staff on duty. Room (2 double beds) was adequate for a rest before continuing to drive the next morning. Breakfast was hot and complementary.

Minor negatives include the hotel is dated and the double beds small. The main negative was that the exterior doors were unlocked throughout the night and had no key card entry to secure them. We were able to enter from an exterior door that was out of sight from the front desk. Although no rooms on the first floor (I think) this still made me feel uneasy and unsafe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfishcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear tfishcole,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed size. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Property: Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6750
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing