We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this one..........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a trip to the NC shore. Picking out a hotel on a website can occasionally be problematic, and this was one place we will not return to. The property was not very clean, the elevator smelled of urine, the room was on the shabby side with a very lumpy bed, and the bathroom had been stripped of everything except for a minimum number of towels. When I asked for shampoo, soap, and coffee supplies and cups, I was told they were out of them at this time. Not a good sign. The staff were nice enough, just did not have much to work with. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear hayes522,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

We hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night while on business and this was a very enjoyable stay. This is an excellent find and at an excellent price. The pool is great. The room was great. The staff was great. The breakfast was great. The bedding was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mack00013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Overall ok, but Wi-Fi did NOT work and they did not care. I wished they had a fridge in room and that the Wi-Fi worked. I mentioned it to them in eve and in the morning. I chose because of Wi-Fi. Elevator had urine smell I think because of dogs. Positives--- Pool was nice. Attached sports bar was also a positive where kids eat free.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinbelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped on a road trip, so didn't use a lot of the amenities, but the price was reasonable, the place seemed very safe, and they offered room service. The breakfast offered in the morning was the best I've seen in this hotel class. There is a bar/restaurant in the hotel, and it provides hot, fresh food for the breakfast. Scrambled eggs, sausage, ham, mini muffins, assortment of drinks. We had a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

After a full day drive and quite tired, check-in was pleasantly uneventful. The roomcard keys worked the first time. Room 323 and bathroom were clean. A few tiny spiders left the impression the room hadn't been used in a while. They were not bothersome and they waved goodbye as I flushed them down the commode. The in-house pub was kid-friendly, food acceptable, and I wasn't about to drive another inch to find another eatery, anyway. Hotel was quiet, even though just off I-57 in a cluster of hotels and eateries typical of a busy interstate junction. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank morebeerplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed here on a Hotwire deal. I paid $92 and that was about $20 off the hotel published rate. The property was listed as a 3 star so I felt the $92 was a fair price. Check in was nice and smooth and found the front desk clerk to be kind. I was a little surprised at the room. It seemed outdated and had a few stains on the floor and walls. Not much desk room for laptops and the wi-fi was rather weak in my location. Over the course of the evening I noticed the room was not cooling off. I brought it to the attention of the front desk clerk on my way out for dinner. She offered to change my room but was having problems with the system. The manager came over to assist and looked puzzled. He asked if I booked through a 3rd party. I told him I booked through Hotwire. He apologized and said he cant give me a new room because "that is the room I paid for". I was a bit shocked as I was not looking for another room, just asking if someone could look at the A/C. The clerk said she would send someone. Later in the evening the room was still warm so I called the front desk. I was told by another clerk that the unit I'm in has had problems and that she would send someone to take me to a new room. I was taken a few doors down to another room. The A/C worked fine in that room. The following morning I had the breakfast buffet. It was ok. The entire experience felt more like a 1 to 2 star motel. For the money, I think I would book at the marriott property across the street next time. If the price per night at this location would be more in line with a 1 or 2 star, this would be a decent value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludicrous_speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear ludicrous_speed,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding our hotel. I'm so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. We work very hard to be the best Holiday Inn around that provides world class excellence. I'm deeply sorry for the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations. Your comments are very helpful as this is our best resource to determine the areas that needs to be improved. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you would give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Check-in, cleanliness, sleeping, etc., was fine; ability to work in the room was sub-standard because of the desk chair. I'm 5'11'' tall, but because the chair hydraulic lift would not go up far enough, table was about mid-chest level--this is not a good position for working on laptop. The person on duty (about 9 p.m.) was cold to my request for a different chair. 30 minutes later, I called again and asked if another chair was still possible and indicated I would like to switch rooms if not--she sent someone up! He was VERY helpful. The other chair had same problem, too short, but he brought several blankets so make it higher. It appears this hotel is best suited for people at least 7-feet tall until they replace all the desk chairs.

Room Tip: This hotel is fine if you do not need to use the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Dear tom d,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel. I apologize for the problems you encountered with the desk chairs. We will definitely look into this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6750
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: $65 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing