We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The best part about this hotel is location. The worst is the musty smell that hits you as soon as you walk in. It leaves a bad impression right away. We were just there overnight and did not spend much time in the hotel so I can't comment on the other amenities. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. A bit of an issue with the toilet almost overflowing but that is something they wouldn't know about unless it was reported to someone, which I did upon checkout. I would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clubhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

I stayed overnight at this hotel. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express facilities and always had a positive experience until now. This hotel is musty smelling, the carpet in the room was dirty, the mattress was by far the worse I've ever slept in...you could feel the springs. The hotel has free high speed internet but the connection was poor from all locations. The best part of the stay were all the mouse traps in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Upon arriving to my room there were six mouse traps. Went down to ask about this and they said there was no problem. Asked to switch rooms which was a problem according to them. This hotel is terrible :(. Wouldn't reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moe6831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I traveled to Mt. Vernon for business and stayed at this Holiday Inn for four nights. The room was clean but needed some updates in the bathroom. The free breakfast was one of the worst I have experienced but I feel bad about complaining about something that is free. Staff were friendly and the wake up call worked (which is important to me!). There are plenty of restaurants near by and some shopping. And if you like greasy bar food the restaurant on site is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcnewt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I booked a room over the pool (so I expected noise) for a weekend visit. I was a bit disappointed to see rodent traps in the rooms and stairwell, but at least they are being proactive in getting rid of mice and rats. (OK - I am very scared of mice, and just seeing the trap boxes made it hard for me to fall asleep).
This is a convention/event hotel, so I was staying during a time when there was a major fight scheduled for viewing. The bar was crowded, but the servers were fantastic in keeping those of us waiting on food, occupied and entertained. There were well over 500 people there for the fight, and many were drunk, but not obnoxious. The next morning, there were empty cups all over the hallway floor in front of the elevator. I had a minor issue with being overcharged on my bill, but after speaking with management via telephone the next day, it was quickly resolved with a sincere apology. I found this to be totally acceptable. I decided to return to this property later on this month when I take my family and 25 pound spaniel mix out of town for a week.
This is a large hotel that has renovated the property. There is a restaurant, bar, indoor pool, teller machine, Internet connection, flat screen TV, fireplace in the lobby and room service. It is also near many other restaurants, stores, gas stations. The two hospitals are a few miles down the road. When the sliding glass doors are closed in your room (overlooking the pool), you cannot hear noise from the area, which is very nice. The rooms are still a bit dated and the bathrooms could use a little sprucing up, but they are clean. The heating system in the room took well over 5 hours to get to the temperature I desired and it was loud. I did not call the front desk because I was too tired to move to another room. They allow dogs for an extra $20.00, no matter how long your stay. I had no problem with this, as I only saw one dog the entire weekend. If there would have been more pets, it would not have bothered me since I love dogs.
If I were given a choice to have a free nights stay at this property or to pay $104 at another property across the street that I always stay at, I would actually have to think about it. I really do believe I would stay at the other property but if I were traveling on a budget and had the same option, I would stay here, but I would not be as comfortable as I am when I stay at their competitor's property.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmt1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed at this Holiday Inn a few years ago, and was disappointed but decided to try it again after a dissappointing stay at the Fairfield across the street. The room was very nice and large, price was good at $81.99 per night for a king. Room was clean, hotel was quiet. Everything worked. Staff were very nice. I never sleep well with those heaters cycling at night so I turned it off. It wasn't loud or anything. Even though the outside temp was in the low 30s I was comfortable with only having the heat on when I was awake. My room was in the wing and I could hear some traffic noise around 6:00 am. I am early riser so this was not a problem for me. I would have to say the only thing that I did not like was the breakfast. It is a continental for sure and the same everyday. I was there for 4 nights so by the last day I was tired of it. You do have the option of ordering off a menu for a more custom breakfast at your expense. There is also a restaurant on site but I never had the opportunity to try it. I used the business center everyday and found that very convienent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We recently stayed in this facility and also one year ago. Don't let the age of the building fool you. This is completely renovated and very tastefully decorated. The rooms are beautiful and with a lot of floor space. The beds are pillow top mattresses, which were very comfortable.
The description of the amenities does not include the fact that a FREE HOT BREAKFAST is included. There are also restaurants available in the hotel if needed. We stayed in a room that over looked the lobby/ breakfast area, a little noisy in the morning and blinds did not darken the room enough. One draw back for some people may be that there is NOT a microwave or refrigerator in the room.
Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6750
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: $65 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing