We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough food!”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Red Bud, Illinois
Level Contributor
264 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not enough food!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I used to love going to Cracker Barrel for a hearty meal. This last time I went, I had to eat again when I got home because I was still hungry. The food was good, but the portion size was super small. I would pay more for a full size meal. I won't go back for a snack.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siwasher1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always great food and great service!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We live nearby and have eaten here several times. No matter what time or day we always get great tasting food and super friendly and timely service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than the near-by Denny's”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We like to eat here for breakfast when traveling through Mt. Vernon. I haven't been to a bad
Cracker Barrel yet, so this Cracker Barrel is no different that other Cracker Barrels. My husband likes to order the Wholesome Mornin' Sampler that comes with low-fat vanilla yogurt and seasonal fruit with granola, two eggs, a very large blueberry muffin (there are other flavors), and turkey sausage patties (their are other meat choices). I like the Momma's French Toast Breakfast that comes with French toast, eggs, and meat. We are so full after this breakfast that we skip lunch. We've stopped at the near-by the Denny's in the past and will never go back after stopping a Cracker Barrel. Plus, I like to shop around Cracker Barrel's country store (part of the restaurant).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ofallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the better Cracker Barrel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here tonight. She had chicken and dumplings. I had the haddock. We had sides of fried okra, hash brown casserole and green beans. It came with biscuits and corn muffins. The main dishes were very good. The okra was especially good, crispy and free of oil. The service was adequate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fspandorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
196 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like the other Cracker Barrels: good service hearty fare”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The service was fast and the food hearty and hot. I chose a grilled chicken salad this time, and it was delicious. The cornbread came out hot, and the side vegetables were all nicely cooked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wadham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, IL
Mount Vernon, IL
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing