We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, festive atmosphere and friendly service.”
Review of El Rancherito

El Rancherito
Ranked #10 of 69 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Cape Girardeau, MO
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent food, festive atmosphere and friendly service.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived a little after the lunch rush, and there were still quite a few patrons. The place is very dimly lit, which takes a moment to adjust to, but once you do it is very festive! Our waitress arrived quickly and served our drinks, chips and yummy salsa. The menu is HUGE, so it took us a while to decide. I ended up getting enchilada's. The portions were huge and came with plenty of sides (rice, beans, sour cream etc). We did have to wait around for our check once we were done eating, but found that our waitress mistakenly thought she had given it to us already. She was very apologetic once she realized we had been waiting. We left full and would certainly stop again if in town and craving Mexican.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOGrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant View, TN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GREAT BUFFET!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was great.....We just happened to be traveling through on Sunday at lunch. They offer a buffet on Sundays.......and it was really good. We are adding it to our "must stops" when we are traveling through now!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love to go here all the time!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This place should offer frequent eater miles, because we go alot! Love the chips and salsa, fajitas are great, pollo loco is a must! You won't leave hungry- promise!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alitton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierView
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“vaca 2013”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

aweful Mexican overpriced food.sucky service and dirty floors, ripped seat cushions...:(((
I have nothing else to say....bad....yup...just bad

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank UrlaubGlacierView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't let the exterior put you off”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The inside is bright, colorful, clean and larger than it appears. The four of us enjoyed the chips and salsa and ample, delicious platters of food for dinner. Service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Loves2Cplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancherito also viewed

Mount Vernon, IL
Mount Vernon, IL
 

Been to El Rancherito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing