We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lone Star should close this place”

Lone Star Steakhouse
Ranked #18 of 66 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ava, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lone Star should close this place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The other Lone Star restaurants we've stopped at in southern Illinois have had good service, fresh salads, and thoroughly decent steaks. They are almost always stacked at the doors for the supper crowd. This one was empty at 5:30 PM and service was still slow. The tablecloths are almost worn through. Salad was not fresh. We spent $53 for two mediocre steaks. Won't stop here again. This place is also reviewed under the name "Lonestar".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    18
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brown
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not again”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Have stopped here many of time on our way back from the south but will not do it again. We were there around 1:00. It wasn't busy. Had to wait to be seated. Went to the restroom and back and my dad had just gotten seated. Ordered the pork chop and took almost an hour to get our food. The other item ordered was a French dip type sandwich. It didn't come out with all the items as described in the menu. Already had to send the waitress back for my fries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnlyAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bad idea for taking the boss here!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had to find a secondary place to eat, when I suggested Lone Star. There were five of us and the packed us into a booth which was a tight fit, but we made the best of it and ordered our meals. The server was taking care of a huge table and did not check on us very much if ever. When we finally got our meal an hour later, I felt like the food was okay, but my chili was cold. Must have been waiting on the steaks some of the guys had ordered. I felt terrible for suggesting this place and hope the boss does not hold against me as well. Will not be going back for a while if ever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbobwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OK, but....”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Been to Lonestar's before in other cities, they were much better. It wasn't crowded, and the service was slow. Food ok but nothing to brag about. Not going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak like leather”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Long wait for appetizer, food. I always order my steak medium rare, so there should not be a problem of the steak coming out over well done. Steak is second hand....flavor is just not there. For the price, thumbs down.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLH114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Steakhouse also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, IL
Mount Vernon, IL
 

Been to Lone Star Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing