We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, delicious, local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 9th St. Grill - CLOSED

9th St. Grill
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This locally owned eatery features a European and Mediterranean influenced menu with weekly specials and locally sourced produce in season. Enjoy a cocktail in our comfortable dining room, while browsing the local artist's work on our walls. We'll be happy to guide you through a delicious meal - from our fresh home-made hummus to a rich creme brulee. You'll be glad you stopped in!
mt. vernon, il
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique, delicious, local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've had lunch and dinner at 9th st. many times and never been disappointed. Their food is prepared on sight, including their delicious home-made bread sticks. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a really good meal. It's not fast food, so allow for adequate time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandraclark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Get off the interstate and head downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hands down the best restaurant in town. It's a couple of miles east of interstate 57 away from the hotels, but worth the trip. Try the bison burger for lunch and you can never go wrong with the pasta dish called the gambit either. Great selection and variety on the menu and plenty of wine and beer, too. The management team, led by Kaycee, is second to none. They will take great care of you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LtColBuckRobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always good food! Has a varied selection on the menu for every ones taste. Service is good and the server knows the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, MO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Pleased! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a weekday lunch. I had the Monte Carlo Chicken Sandwich and the potato soup. The sandwich was huge! The bread was made on site and delicious. Service was great as well. I am not in Mt. Vernon often, but would certainly return when in town!

Helpful?
Thank MOGrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love this little intimate gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We go here often. Food is delicious, and the atmosphere is cozy intimate. Very nice place- staff is very attentive. A must in Mt. Vernon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alitton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9th St. Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing