We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very fresh and good, service excellent, a great find in a small town!”
Review of 9th St. Grill - CLOSED

9th St. Grill
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This locally owned eatery features a European and Mediterranean influenced menu with weekly specials and locally sourced produce in season. Enjoy a cocktail in our comfortable dining room, while browsing the local artist's work on our walls. We'll be happy to guide you through a delicious meal - from our fresh home-made hummus to a rich creme brulee. You'll be glad you stopped in!
Mt. Vernon, Il.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Food very fresh and good, service excellent, a great find in a small town!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Lacey, our waitress tonight, couldn't have been nicer. She had great recommendations and came back to our table repeatedly to be sure all was going well. We will return to the 9th St. Grill on our next trip through town.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twotownsends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mt Vernon has good food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

After many discouraging chains and motel restaurants in Mt Vernon, we enjoyed a very nice dinner at 9th St Grill, with some inventive cooking. Salmon cakes special (like Maryland crab cakes) were delicious as a main course. Spicy (Cajun) chicken also was quite good. Good fresh vegetables, pleasant atmosphere. We'll go back next time we're in town.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonville, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great spot in town”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

In a city filled with chains, the 9th St. Grill stands out. I ate there with friends on two separate occasions on my recent visit. Both times, the service was perfect, the food prepared quite well, the drinks served as ordered and very yummy desserts. Then there is the price! Outstanding value for the price paid! Will return on my next visit to be sure!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A total disappointment - unfortunately”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

During my business trip I went to this restaurant with a client and we both ordered Surf and Turf.
We ordered the steak medium rare.
We had our drinks quickly and the waitress was friendly. Until our steaks arrived at the table it was still okay.
The steaks were not even close to medium - but totally over done
The shrimp were not even fried and we were told, it had to be that way.
Well after all we decide to avoid that place. I have seen a lot of ways to serve shrimp and Steak, this was just a new way I guess

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaybeceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food and ambiance!”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I love to take visiting relatives or friends to this restaurant. No one has ever been disappointed. The food is Consistantly GREAT!! I personally feel like EVERYONE should try a Calzone, build your own if you don't like their combos. Anyway, the salads are exquisite and the tea is crisp and refreshing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandTMeyer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9th St. Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing