We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites(Mount Vernon)
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon(Mount Vernon)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Mt. Vernon(Mount Vernon)
$64
$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mount Vernon)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Mount Vernon(Mount Vernon)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
84
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbaked french toastaccommodating hostbreakfast was delicioushome away from homeperfect restan amazing hosttea coffeehope to return soonthought of everythingtwo nightsnight staylarrycomfortbnbvernonrelaxation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 84 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved everything about our stay. The decor was absolutely gorgeous. The basil pesto stratta for breakfast was divine. Our room was cozy and comfortable. I loved the snack table and DVD library. The jacuzzi was GREAT! Larry was a gracious host. Our stay felt like a visit to a friend's house. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamEmery526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Splendid bed and breakfast located near downtown Mt. Vernon. Larry was a warm and welcoming host and provided a great atmosphere for a weekend getaway.

The house was tastefully decorated with touches of antique colonials of yesteryear with the amenities of modern day design. The 1st floor was left as common space complete with a parlor library and fireplace. Our bedroom had fresh linens and private bathroom accessible from the hallway.

The breakfast was a carefully selected three course delight, complete with fresh fruit and made from scratch baked French toast. Larry politely asked for ideal time for breakfast, as opposed to requiring an early rise.

The house is located near downtown Mt. Vernon, tucked off a quiet street. The town itself leaves you wanting more, but its location near the Shawnee National Forest makes it a great stop over before heading to explore the park.

For its price, Sidwell Friends is the highest value bed and breakfast we have stayed at. For those looking for a quaint getaway, look no further than Sidwells!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurnipAndDearAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Everything about my stay at Sidwell Friends B&B, remarkable. Despite the short-notice, late (midnight) arrival, I was made to feel comfortable and completely at home. But nothing about my stay was, 'like being at home.'

The space is complex, unique, and interesting, with subtle treats and amenities around every corner. With all this going on it could be easy to feel overwhelmed, but I did not. After spending some time with our host, Larry, I understood why. There is nothing gimmicky or contrived here - everything is just where you'd want it when you want it.

The highlight of my 2-night stay was unquestionably each morning's breakfast and chats with Larry. Wow, and thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were so glad that we found this lovely B&B! Larry was a gracious and amiable host who tries to anticipate all your needs. We stayed in the Windsor room and loved it. The bathroom had a towel warmer, elegant furnishings, and delightful soaps and lotions. At the end of the second floor landing was placed a table with snacks and hot drinks to enjoy, and there was also a fridge with bottled water as well. I especially loved the period furniture and decor of the downstairs. Larry did a wonderful job of bringing this older home back to its glory. He also delivered a delicious breakfast that truly was gourmet! We would love to return to Sidwell Friends in the Spring or Summer when we could sit out on the back deck and enjoy the peacefulness of the gardens. This is truly a welcoming and lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JStCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had a pleasant one-night stay in the Pruett Room. Larry, the host, was very friendly but respectful of our fatigue. He seemed very knowledgeable about the attractions in the area. The room was very nice, and I enjoyed spending an hour in the elegant living room downstairs. There was a table with complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate and chocolates. Breakfast was excellent. wish I could have stayed longer, and had time to sit out in the lovely garden.

Room Tip: Loved the Pruett room. The bathroom was out in the hall, but there were bathrobes provided.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews