We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel full of angry travellers. Feels like a seedy motel. Awful way to finish our trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mount Prospect
bakewell
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hotel full of angry travellers. Feels like a seedy motel. Awful way to finish our trip.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were sent to this bphotel after our flights were cancelled by American Airlines. This place is in the middle of nowhere. The rooms are okay - pretty basic. The first room we were given hadn't been cleaned so we had to go back and ask for another room. The bathroom was not very nice. We had just spent 2 weeks staying in 4 and 5 star boutique hotels so to be given this for our final 'extra' night we really weren't impressed and didn't enjoy our surroundings. The lobby and corridors felt dated and worn.

We were told to inform staff of when we'd like to go back to the airport the following day. We wanted to leave the hotel at 1.45pm but were told 12 or 3 were the only times the bus would be running. So we arrived 2 hours early at the airport. Hardly a "regular" service.

This hotel is cheap and not very cheerful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear MaryJShim,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the overall condition of the rooms. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests. Thank you again for your review. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience.

Once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
23
13
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new harmony
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our flight was canceled and the airline sent us to this hotel we were assured the hotel would shuttle us there,after a 3 hr. wait and being told repeatedly the shuttle would be there in 20 minutes we finally took a taxi at a cost of 39.00 and when I nicely told the girl at the check in desk that we had waited 3hrs. and finally took a taxi at the cost of 39.00 she immediately got very smart and hateful and said she only had one driver and kept on with it rolling her eyes and making our night a little worse.She was very rude crude and unpleasant.The room its self was clean and nice but not worth the attitude of the check in desk and the being told the shuttle would be there in 20 minutes when we waited 3hrs.The next morning the shuttle took us back to the airport the driver was nice but the seatbelt did not work in our seat(the seat clasp wasn't there.We were not the only ones treated this way we spoke with 2 other groups staying there and all had the same experience and all mentioned being treated rudely at check in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Deb K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the difficulties you experienced with our shuttle services and I regret you received unacceptable service from our front desk staff. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will follow up with the front office to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again in the future.

Once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My daughter had her wedding Aug. 25th and we had a lot of out of town guests who needed a place to stay. The wedding was virtually 10 minutes from the hotel. Our venue had given us several hotels quite a distance away, but we chose the Holiday Inn Chicago and we couldn't have been more pleased. The front desk was amazing, friendly and extremely helpful with all of our guests. The rooms were very clean. They provided a free shuttle to and from our venue and it was well organized and on time. The shuttle came every time I called because we had scheduled pick up times, but some people wanted to leave earlier than that. Thanks Holiday Inn you helped make my daughter's wedding special.

Room Tip: I had no complaints from my guests about any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgw087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vergne, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is in a nice section of the Chicago suburbs. There is a large shopping complex (Randhurst) directly across the street. Check in was fine, no issues. i was told breakfast was not included even though I was a gold PC member(breakfast is often included at HI for gold and platinum members) so I was a bit disapointed. The room was nice with the AC running when I arrived. The internet was very fast (HUGE PLUS), I even managed to stream a movie on my laptop. Service was good right up tot he end of my stay. The morning of check out I could not get the water in the shower hot. A cold shower is never a good way to start your day! During check out the front desk clerk didn't want to give me a recipt at first. He thought I had booked through hotels.com or something. I had booked through Holidayinn.com using the advanced purchase rate, but after searching for a few minutes he generated my receipt. He never asked how was my stay or anything. I would have complained about the shower temp if given the chance but it was obvious that they just wanted to get me out. I'm hoping this was an isolated incident since all of the other reviews I've seen were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

i stayed at this property last week for a nearby training class. I chose the Holiday Inn Mt. Prospect because they offer a shuttle to O'Hare and the driver who picked me up the evening of my arrival (i only wish i had asked his name!) was a standout! after a day of traveling, i was tired and not a little cranky. he was engaging and funny and soon had me chatting up a storm with him as we headed to the hotel (in Chicago rush hour no less!) the rest of my stay was non-eventful. the room was very clean, everyone was polite and pleasant to deal with, housekeeping cleaned my room well and promptly each day but there were no other "superstars" i encountered. Overall, i would recommend this property and i would return if i needed to be in that area. Oh and there was a very nice shopping area with a variety of stores & restaurants within walking distance. it appears that more stores & restaurants are joining the area soon as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkinnear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Miss my flight, but was given a great room at the hotel by American Airlines. The inconvenience of missing an international flight is not new to me, but my hotel stay at Mt. Prospect was excellent. The staff was friendly, allowing me to use their printer for my rewritten flight tickets, spending time with me making my stay so comfortable..... I especially mention General Manager Dan Goel, so kind and caring. The reception staff was the friendliest I have encountered in the US! Thank you to Jaz, Cindy and Vanessa for your kindness. I wish you all the best!~ Chicago may be a huge city, but here at the Holiday Inn, I found lovely people with big hearts!! I could never express my deep gratitude to these people who made a bad situation of a missed international connection a wonderful day in my life! Thank you Dan and your staff!!! True teamwork is the secret to your success!!

Room Tip: Any room would be a great room--so clean, spacious and well-appointed with complimentary wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatiBaz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I just got married at Arlington Park in Arlington Heights, IL. We decided to book a block of rooms for us and our guests with Holiday Inn Mt. Prospect mainly because of the shuttle service to the park and the Bar Louie for after partying purposes.
There were a few snags, but overall it was a positive experience.

First, the positives:

1. Ryan Rodriguez, the Sales Manager and my contact, was absolutely wonderful to work with. He was very responsive to my questions and requests, and really helped me figure out who had booked so I could follow up with those who hadn't. He took very good care of us, making sure we got the bridal suite and that the appropriate number of rooms were reserved. He even set up a special website to facilitate our guests booking their rooms. I was able to link to it from our wedding website, which was very helpful.
2. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bridal suite was outstanding, with a mini-kitchen area, jacuzzi tub, and double vanity in the bathroom. (The only weird thing was that I couldn't find the coffee-maker. I assumed it should be in the kitchen area, but it was hidden under the nightstand on the far side of the bed- very odd). I slept like a baby the night before the wedding and the room was perfect for getting ready with my girlfriends the day of. Two rooms meant that the hairdresser and makeup artist each got their own space in which to work. It worked out very well.
3. The Bar Louie was a HUGE plus. We got breakfast vouchers to use on the very delicious breakfast offerings in the Bar Louie. Several of our guests enjoyed the Bar Louie before and after the rehearsal dinner, and after the wedding (since it was a day wedding and was over by dinner time). The food and drink offerings and the staff were fantastic.
4. The pool was enjoyed by everyone from my grandmother, who loves to do water aerobics in the morning, to our friends, who engaged in some evening revelry at the pool. I even think the staff kept the pool open a little later than normal for them. I was not there but I heard it was a great time!
5. The benefits that were promised for booking our block there were fulfilled. Because we had so many guests book, we were given two complimentary nights, which was a huge help. In general, the rooms were very affordably priced for the value.

To be honest and fair, I must also list the snags:

1. The contact with whom I originally signed a contract was replaced, but nobody ever informed me of this. I sent her an email and, after a week of no response, I decided to call, at which point I was told she no longer worked there and I was put in touch with Ryan Rodriguez. Ryan turned out to be a fantastic contact, I only wish the communication would have been more efficient. In my line of business, when an employee leaves, we forward their emails to another employee for a period of time. I would recommend this to them.
2. The bridal suit was not ready for us when we checked in on the day of the rehearsal dinner. Check in was 3pm, and we arrived closer to 5pm. We were given keys to the room but, when we went to occupy the room, the housekeepers had the door open and hadn't even started cleaning it yet. We stood in the hallway with all of our sundry wedding day items (including dress) with nowhere to go until they prepared the room. This was a bit stressful, as we had a reahearsal for which to get ready. I understand they were fully booked the previous night and were struggling to clean the hotel, but it would have been nice if the front desk would have been aware of the status of the cleaning crew, so we weren't standing in the hallway guarding our belongings with nowhere to go.
3. There was some confusion with the shuttle situation. The two shuttles they have are more like large vans, and only hold 15 people per shuttle. Since we had several out-of-town guests and many from Chicago who wanted to stay in the burbs for the wedding, we had quite a few guests who needed transportation to the venue. The day before the wedding, I was told we would be charged an extra $50 to bring in another shuttle/driver. At this point I was fine with that, I just wanted to make sure my guests could get to the wedding since we had promised them a shuttle on our actual invitations. When we arrived, they said they would waive the fee but move around the schedule of the shuttles to start bringing guests earlier. All of this was understandable, but at this late point, I was unable to communicate the change of plans to all of my guests. I was also told that, even though I had given them a map of the facilities at Arlington, one of the shuttles dropped the guests off at the off-track betting facility rather than the park. Many of them had to walk to the park, which is not close. One had a sprained ankle and had to hitch a ride. On the other hand, other guests said the shuttle driver they had was fantastic. I just thought they would have a little more knowledge of the park since they offer shuttle service there. I guess many of their guests go to the off-track facility so their drivers are used to going there.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others. I know this is a new hotel and I think they are still getting their sea legs with a few things, so I think the service will continue to improve.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Prospect
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago/Mt. Prospect
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 2 in Prospect Heights
293 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Heights
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Hei...
#1 of 10 in Arlington Heights
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Glenview
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect
Address: 200 E Rand Rd, Mount Prospect, IL 60056-2158 (Formerly Mount Prospect Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Prospect
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mount Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 miles north of downtown Chicago, Mt. Prospect is a beautiful suburban town, making it the ideal spot for your next trip to Illinois. The Holiday Inn Hotel Chicago - Mount Prospect offers guests the utmost in comfort and convenience, including free shuttle service to O'Hare International Airport (ORD).Business travelers find that our Mount Prospect hotel's location means many corporations are nearby. Kraft, Motorola, United Airlines and Siemens are less than five miles away, while the Allstate Arena and the Rosemont Convention Center are both within 10 miles of the hotel. Our Mt. Prospect accommodations also offer flexible meeting space, free Wi-Fi Internet access and a Business Center.Vacationers enjoy our Mt. Prospect hotel's location because famous attractions like Wrigley Field, the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier in downtown Chicago are just a 30-minute drive. In addition, our Mt. Prospect accommodations are situated in the heart of the Illinois Park District, where nature enthusiasts can hike the many scenic trails. Guests also enjoy shopping at the Radhurst and Woodfield Malls near our Chicago area hotel. For those thrill seekers, Alrlington Racecourse is just minutes away.While lodging at our Mount Prospect hotel near Chicago, guests enjoy premium amenities like a Fitness Center, an indoor pool and the Bar Louie Restaurant where kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mt Prospect Hotel Mount Prospect
Holiday Inn Mount Prospect

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing