We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabincamping”
Review of White Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Pines Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Morris
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cabincamping”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at whispering pines cabin during a recent family road trip. It was a wonderful experience & cost less than the local motel!!
We had plenty of room indoors and out. The lady who checked us in was very helpful. She even gave us directions to a great local bowling ally. I wish we had more time to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    44
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
90
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a great time at White Pines Inn during our Spring birding trip. We stayed at one of 13 small, one-room cabins inside the park, which is in a pine forest. Quad cabins are available for larger families and groups. Our cabin was fine for the two of us. It had a queen-sized bed with a trundle underneath, a small dining table with two chairs, a small refrigerator, coffeemaker and hair dryer. The cabins are somewhat close together, but we visited during the week, and had plenty of peace and quiet. It was great waking up to birds singing right outside. The park has several short trails, from easy to challenging. There are two creeks running through the property, attracting a variety of wildlife. We saw lots of warblers, including yellow, yellow-rumped, black and white, nashville, pine, and palm; also solitary and yellow-throated vireos; ruby-crowned kinglets, indigo bunting, woodpeckers, including downy, red-bellied and yellow-shafted flicker; sparrows including chipping, white-throated and field, and lots of other birds. In short trips outside the park, we saw wild turkeys, pelicans, blue-winged teal and meadowlark. Woodland wildflowers were just popping out at the time of our visit, and the park was full of them; we counted about 20 species blooming or getting ready to bloom. Because we visited during the week, we got a special which included a free breakfast up to $25 each day. Breakfasts were quite generous and included anything we wanted to order off the menu. The french toast was especially tasty. We ate most of our other meals in the lodge restaurant as well, and they were generally good. We loved the rolls and corn bread that came with them. Staff were friendly and accomodating. There is a theater on site but we did not get to it, although we saw lots of people attending. The gift shop was worth visiting, containing a nice array of nature-themed gifts and toys. We found White Pines Inn to be a very good value for money and and an easy trip from the western suburbs of Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazelhedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an amazing time this weekend at White Pines!

We stayed in one of the sweetheart cabins, #26. I read some other reviews saying that it isn't the best location as it is located right behind the photo sign and at the end of the trail. Honestly, I think it was the best location! I guess it helps that we were really the only ones in the whole park....it was a ghost town (we loved it!). The only downfall about #26 is that you have to circle back around and drive past all the other cabins in order to get to your parking spot...really not a big deal though.

The cabins are located in White Pines State Park. There are a few trails but honestly, we weren't blown away by them. The "sleepy hollow" trail was by far the best, it was rated the hardest and had a lot of climbing and some areas where you crossed streams using stepping stones. We stayed at Starved Rock last year so we were spoiled by Matthiessen Park. Again, the trails were empty so no overcrowding (which happens a lot at the aforementioned parks).

Oh, and the pigs...those poor pigs. I am not sure if the wind was traveling just right but we kept hearing grunts and moans and assumed it was coming from the nearby meat plant. I hope those sounds were from the pigs outside in their pen and not from them meeting their demise.

There are also various, public fire pits and luckily no one else was using any so we had our own private fire complete with smores and wine! The gift shop sells fire starters as well as bundles of wood. And there are plastic chairs around the fire pits.

Our cabin was also very clean considering it was a cabin. We loved the fire place and the water in the shower and sink was probably the hottest water I've ever felt in my life. The bed was slightly uncomfortable as it was a bit stiff but still nice. I read a few reviews mentioning mice/insects so I was a bit freaked but luckily we had neither (there was a rodent/insect plug-in in one of the outlets). The windows also opened up in the cabin if you wanted fresh air. There was a nice sized mini fridge and a TV with a VCR/DVD player (I believe they offer movie rentals). We didn't see the cabin diary until we left but thought that was a really neat idea...we also left our own personal note. Oh, and it appeared to have central AC for those hotter months.

Loved the gift shop! That was probably my favorite part. Tons of stuff that was right up my alley....candles....smelly stuff...fun gifts. Things were reasonably priced and they also gave us 10% off because we were going to dine in the restaurant. There is also a very talkative and chatty parrot in the back.

Now, the restaurant....

The food was absolutely delicious! I kept reading such great reviews and didn't think the food would be "that good"...but it was! We did make a reservation per the suggestion of others but it wasn't necessary as the area wasn't very crowded. If you do go during a busy season, make a reservation as there aren't many tables. There was also a dinner theater going on so maybe that is where a lot of the people were.

It was a Friday night so my bf had the rib special, I had the chicken fingers. We were also given some bread with honey pecan butter which was amazing. My chicken fingers were great, very crispy and not greasy. I also had a side of mashed potatoes and the veggies of the day and I am so glad that I got both. The ribs were also delicious and the portion was huge, he had to take half a slab to go. We were always provided with refills and never had to ask. Oh, and the chairs at this place were super comfortable. It was like they were molded specifically for my tush...I want one of those chairs!!!

We are thinking about coming back for Labor Day...just so we can eat in the restaurant again!

Oh, and wanted to also mention....no cell service at all. We were able to get a connection in the restaurant but that was about it. True relaxation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent a weekend celebrating my birthday at the White Pines Inn. We have been to this beautiful park many times but had never stayed in the cabins before. Our cabin was very small and rustic but we found it romantic and it met our needs just fine. It was spotless, well heated (great since it was very cold outside!) and we found the bed quite comfy. The gas fireplace was a nice touch and the shower was excellent, even if the bathroom floor was quite frigid! We cross country skied, hiked in the snow and had the breakfast buffet the next morning. We will go again - maybe once each season to enjoy the changes. Note: you may be able to get a coupon on their website.

Room Tip: The single cabins are very private; I would only suggest one of the quad rooms if you were traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You could be forgiven for thinking that these cabins are straight out of a B-movie horror. They are slightly creepy cabins built in the 1930s and well positioned in a pretty, quiet forest area. They are small, the beds aren't particularly comfy, ours had legs that looked like they were about to collapse. The shower is good!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed in the Whispering Pines cabin that sleeps 6-7 people. This is a modern cabin with the cute decor to go along with it. We enjoyed the area tremendously. The kitchen was good. Refrigerator and stove worked fine. Cabinets and counter were clean. However, the beds were worn and need to be replaced. The kids said the pull out sofa was very uncomfortable. Bathrooms were clean as well, however the floors and throw rugs were dirty. Very difficult to keep the kids from sitting/playing on the floor. They could at least slide the sofa and furniture over to sweep under them. I just feel the total charge of almost $400.00 (for the 2 nights) were a bit pricey for this cabin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eile15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just spent a weekend in one of the sweetheart cabins (#25) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cabin is full of historical interest (love CCC architecture), with a very comfortable bed, strong hot shower, and decent appointments like a coffeepot and fridge. The gas fireplace was nice for taking off the chill when we came in off the trails. The restaurant has pretty good food (very heavy on meat, though) and is staffed by extremely friendly and efficient people. We'll go back again for a weekend getaway. Wish the park, which is lovely, had more than six miles of trails, but there are other state parks nearby that are worth visiting, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ever_wanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Morris
7.1 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
112 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
139 reviews
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rock Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
21.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pines Inn

Property: White Pines Inn
Address: 6712 W Pines Rd, Mount Morris, IL 61054-9515
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Morris
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Morris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your White Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Pines Hotel Mount Morris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing