We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as lovely 23 years later”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Church House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mossville B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Old Church House Inn on our honeymoon in March of 1990 and were very impressed. We were thrilled to find them on the web and booked the suite for Nov. 3, 2013. Everything is delightfully decorated, the atmosphere warm and welcoming and the inn is spotless. Our pillow had a note about tomorrow's weather and two truffles. The mini fridge was stocked with various soft drinks and two scrumptious slices of apple cake with caramel drizzle were waiting by the in room coffee maker. The jacuzzi tub was relaxing and the queen bed super comfortable. Holly made a fantastic breakfast of eggs with chives, ham and cream cheese served with a colorful array of fruits, cider, pumpkin muffins, donuts, and delicious cinnamon rolls. We found this inn just as wonderful as we did 23 years ago!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldchurchhouse, Owner at Old Church House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Many of our guests have become life long friends. While we make ongoing improvements to our accommodations, we hope that each stay creates a memory that lingers long after our guests have returned home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Old Church House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 26 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary 3 months late and this is exactly what we needed. Quiet. Clean. Comfortable. The little touches like the coffee and tea anytime. Chocolates. Homemade cookies. And the wonderful morning conversations with Dean. What a great family. The breakfasts were out of this world.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frodobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldchurchhouse, Owner at Old Church House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Every guest should be treated as though they were, for the moment, the most important people in the world! Whether it be for a get away, a business trip, or for celebrating a special occasion in Peoria, when our guests leave, we want them wishing they could stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everything was top notch - reserved this for a Friday night to surprise my husband for his birthday and was relying on the reviews on the site and a little blind faith that everything would be as stated/pictured. We couldn't have been more happy - loved that we had the whole B&B guest area to ourselves, very clean and comfortable, beautifully appointed, loved every attention to detail, breakfast was very good, fresh cut flowers from their garden added nice touches, hosts made us feel very comfortable without being intrusive (had never met them and left feeling like we'd made new friends). Both my husband & I loved the entire experience and have recommended Old Church House Inn to many friends since our stay - looking forward to going back there next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpeters20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldchurchhouse, Owner at Old Church House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Whether you only have the time for a quick getaway, or you've planned the special, surprise event, we hope that every stay is a special memory. Thank you for your generous feedback - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Everything about this charming B&B is A++! The location is near the Peoria airport but if your destination is anywhere in central Illinois, it is well worth the drive. The suite (there is only one), the amenities, the proprietors, food and setting are incredible. There is a piano (in tune!), a lofted library, and many other interesting details - without being fussy or overdone. The proprietors are informative without being intrusive. The suite is awesome - a comfortable bedroom with tv, central bathroom with all the amenities, and separate sitting room/den with wi-fi, tv, mini-fridge and coffee service. The breakfast was fabulous and beautiful to look at. I was asked for my preferences and was not disappointed. In fact, I was overwhelmed - it was a perfect breakfast. And all this for an incredibly reasonable charge. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: There is only one room but it is a suite. You will feel like royalty!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldchurchhouse, Owner at Old Church House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Being a small inn allows us to focus on details and unique customer preferences. In our own B&B travels, there have been times when we wanted to mingle, and others where peace and quiet were necessary. We look forward to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This little B&B is definitely off the beaten track in the Peoria area, but worth the extra 10-15 minute drive. It's a converted church (as you may have guessed by the name) so open spaces and high ceilings dominate the guest area. The proprietors have done a very nice job of separating the guest areas from their own space, so we never felt like we were intruding on their private lives.

The room itself (there's only one bedroom) is very comfortable and has plenty of room for a couple. We were really happy with the layout and space we were given, and the bathroom is really nice! Everything is brand new, so no issues there.

Mostly we enjoyed meeting the owners! They were really fun and took great care of us. We had planned to explore Peoria a bit while in town for work, but ended up relaxing at Church House as much as possible. The best part is definitely the service; I would recommend this to anyone who wants to get out of the big city!

Ross

Room Tip: There's only the one room!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldchurchhouse, Owner at Old Church House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Sometimes "off the beaten path" is a good thing! I know that when we travel, we look for a balance of not too distant, yet secluded enough we can truly get away from it all. We are a small inn, so for guests looking for quiet privacy, relaxing comfort, and a generous dose of special amenities, we may be the perfect choice. It is always a pleasure connecting with our guests - we've learned much, and hope that many, like you, take home the fond memories of good conversation and hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast is a dream-come-true kind of a place. You and your Love are the ONLY guests to stay in this Inn. The owners do everything possible to make it a romantic get-away. Believe me, you won't be disappointed! The food is delicious, the bed is comfortable, the entire place is spotless, the bathroom is spacious, the decorations are darling. We felt so pampered. I'd love to go back, and I'm telling all my family and friends about it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judyannabell424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldchurchhouse, Owner at Old Church House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

The old adage is to leave something a little better than you found it. We hope that every guest feels a little more relaxed, a little more pampered, and their lives made just a little better because of a great getaway. We know that over the years, many of our guests have become friends, and that has made our lives a little richer! Church House has been welcoming folks for over 24 years, and that, too, speaks of a quality experience. Thanks for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a treat to stay at this B&B. Dean and Holly have thought of everything. They even left a handwritten note telling us what the weather would be like the next day. Especially loved the Jacuzzi tub and the thickest towels and bathrobes I've ever used. The beds were comfy, even the hotel-grade futon in the 2nd bedroom. Decor is awesome--everywhere you look there's something else to ooh and aah over. Very relaxing. Our only regret was that we had only one night here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ba41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldchurchhouse, Owner at Old Church House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Old Church House Inn. It's our goal to provide all those papering amenities that we rarely take time to do for ourselves. Even the futon had to be the best we could acquire. Many guests say it is equally comfortable to a great standard bed.

We'll look forward to another visit - and pass the word along! Your friends should be our friends, too!

Dean & Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossville
8.5 mi away
Mark Twain Hotel
Mark Twain Hotel
#6 of 23 in Peoria
409 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Peoria at Grand Prairie
5.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
8.5 mi away
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Peoria-East At The River Boat Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Church House Inn

Address: 1416 Mossville Rd, Mossville, IL 61552-7514
Location: United States > Illinois > Mossville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mossville
Price Range: $55 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether as a restful retreat, a home away from home while on business or for any other spontaneous reason, you'll find the warm, classic atmosphere just what you need to relax the mind and refresh the body. Billowy beds, delicious food, beautiful accommodations, and friendly innkeepers. Our inn is a perfect choice for your next getaway. We're looking forward to having you as our guests! Built as a colonial church in 1869, the Inn welcomed parishioners until the 1960's. Today, guests are welcomed by its expansive, 18' ceiling, tall, arched windows, open banister staircase and elevated library loft. Completely renovated in 2008, the rooms exhibit a blend of rich, historic colors and fabrics, with a contemporary twist. Marble topped, antique furniture, tastefully coordinates with colorful stripes and hand glazed walls. These spaces are separate from the innkeepers, so guests feel at ease in over 1900 square foot of inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing