We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Stay BnB, truly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Church House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mossville B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I can't recommend the Old Church House Inn enough. They have one room that gets half of the church to itself: a downstairs living area, the bedroom upstairs (with a very soft bed), a bathroom with jacuzzi, and a sitting area.

The owners, Dean and Holly, are what take takes this bnb from lovely to fantastic. They are warm and attentive, while giving you space to relax by yourself. They add small touches that make all the difference. Classical music plays softly (very softly, not irritatingly) in the living area. A little plate of freshly baked cookies waits on the desk in the sitting room. At night, a handwritten weather forecast sits on your turned down bed.

Breakfast is delicious! They asked about any preferences, but as we didn't have any, we were greeted by surprising and delicious meals. Fresh fruit and entrees with great and interesting flavor combinations (cream cheese herbed eggs with crispy bacon, fresh popovers, oven baked apple granola).

Although it isn't located in main Peoria, it is really a very short drive to town (less than ten minutes to Peoria Heights). If you are visiting Caterpillar in Mossville, it's really only two minutes away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

The property was very well-kept and the hosts were very warm and hospitable. We were greeted and welcomed upon our arrival, given a tour and realized we had the whole place to ourselves...which is rather large. Dean and Holly thought of everything, even a hand-written weather report left on our bed while we were out. Fresh baked sugar cookies were also there for us upon our return and they were delicious. Dean was kind enough to check with us before-hand about breakfast and any allergies. Our breakfast for two was made to order for us and was delightful. We enjoyed our experience and plan to return the next opportunity we have.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Old Church Inn was built in the 1800's. The building has experienced history that has converted the "church" aspects to a truly magnificent home.
The Inn does not have multiple accomodations like other larger B&B's and here is where the difference lies:
The guests have complete access to the lower and upper floor of the Inn from the front view of the home. Exquisite furnishings, a dining room, grand staircase and a library nook accessed by a ladder complete the entrance. Take the grand staircase to the second floor and the guests find deliciously soft bed (Double). This may be the minor weakness for the Inn. The softness of the bed would have been an issue for my husband; however, I was there for business in Peoria. I slept within minutes of nesting into the bed. My husband would most likely have a back issue due to the softness of the bed.
For three days, I had a separate sunny room decorated to delight the senses in a beach theme where I set up my computers, printer, phone, etc. It was perfect for keeping up with business. Complementary Tea, soda, cookies, bottled water, popcorn, microwave and refrigerator were most welcome.
Late at night, I would run a hot bath, soaking away the day in the jacuzzi. Bath salts and body lotion were provided.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Holly and Dean are careful to determine and food issues prior to your visit.
We are frequent B&B travelers. This is by far the best I have ever experienced. The spacious home, virtually all to yourself, very soft classical music in the library loft...Get out some piano books and see what you remember from your piano lessons as you enjoy the beauty and tone of the Kawai piano.
Thank you, Holly and Dean, for this treasured home experience. Your hospitality and the detailed comforts were amazing; your listening ear to a frazzled traveller was an added comfort during difficult times. What more can I say. This historic home exudes everything one could ever ask for adventurers, lovers and/or weary travellers.

Room Tip: Call ahead. Holly and Dean will accomodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was very impressed with the decor and the breakfast provided by the hosts; Holly especially was very friendly and eager to please. I had a bit of trouble with the wireless connection, but Holly was able to commandeer another family member's laptop so that I could print out my boarding pass. Breakfast was delicious and the bed very comfortable! My only disappointment was the very limited channel selection on the small TV -- after a long business day I simply like to veg out and destress, which given only 5-6 channels to choose from, was not really an option.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beentheredonethat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The two rooms, bathroom and living room were potlessly clean and luxuriously supplied. Holly and Dean made us gourmet breakfasts, even with our special food requests. The location in Mossville was perfect for us, with 5 minutes to Robinson Park where we walked every morning, and 15 minutes from downtown Peoria where we did genealogy research.

Room Tip: We essentially had half their house to ourselves! The two rooms overlook the living and dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Old Church House Inn while attending a wedding in Peoria. What a gem of a B & B! Originally a church built in the 1860s, the building was converted into an inn by the current owners, who live in one half of the structure. The entire "other half" is one very large, graciously appointed guest suite. The main portion has expansive, 18-foot ceilings and a dining room and large sitting area, complete with a fireplace and a piano. Over the entry is a "book loft," accessible by ladder (proceed at your own risk!) and furnished with book-lined shelves and a reading chair and bordered with the original structure's altar rail. The long and elegant staircase leads to the bedroom, bath, and additional sitting room, which can convert to a second bedroom for children, perhaps. The bedroom is beautifully Victorian, and the bathroom, also in "period decor," is completely up-to-date in its amenities. Antique furnishings and accessories abound, and everything is scrupulously clean. And the breakfast ...delicious, elegantly presented by the host, who is happy to chat or just leave you alone, it's up to you. The Ramseyers are gracious hosts and have created a lovely getaway experience in Mossville. I highly recommend it and would eagerly return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jolo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We returned for a 2nd stay at the Old Church House in Mossville, a quaint town just upriver from Peoria. Dean & Holly will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. If you're worried that staying in a former church will be strange, or uncomfortable -- put those fears to rest now. If you wish to sit in a pew as you read your Bible you could do that -- one of the old pews is on the balcony -- but you'll be more comfortable in the separate private sitting room. It looks like a church on the outside, but once inside you will feel like you are in a guest suite at the Vanderbilt mansion -- updated yet Victorian, and comfortable yet classy. The breakfasts will be unbelievable and your rest and relaxation will be assured if you stay here. As for the greater Peoria area, there is lots to do as with any medium-sized city. You'll get access to shopping, dining, and attractions without getting stuck in traffic. I hope to come back in the summer to explore the biking or boating opportunities. Being right near Lake Peoria, the Rock Island Trail, and many other attractions means that you can do as much or little as you wish.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Church House Inn

Address: 1416 Mossville Rd, Mossville, IL 61552-7514
Location: United States > Illinois > Mossville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mossville
Price Range: $55 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether as a restful retreat, a home away from home while on business or for any other spontaneous reason, you'll find the warm, classic atmosphere just what you need to relax the mind and refresh the body. Billowy beds, delicious food, beautiful accommodations, and friendly innkeepers. Our inn is a perfect choice for your next getaway. We're looking forward to having you as our guests! Built as a colonial church in 1869, the Inn welcomed parishioners until the 1960's. Today, guests are welcomed by its expansive, 18' ceiling, tall, arched windows, open banister staircase and elevated library loft. Completely renovated in 2008, the rooms exhibit a blend of rich, historic colors and fabrics, with a contemporary twist. Marble topped, antique furniture, tastefully coordinates with colorful stripes and hand glazed walls. These spaces are separate from the innkeepers, so guests feel at ease in over 1900 square foot of inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing