We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Morton Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morton Grove
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The reviews of this hotel being "unsafe" don't seem warranted. This is a decent area to stay. It is an older hotel but it is clean and there are updates in the rooms. Yes, it's one of those "outside" types of hotels with no big, inside lobby. But for the price and considering how far you have to go for other options, this place was fine for a short stay or business stay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    100
    44
    22
    25
See reviews for
81
58
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding in Evanston, IL. Sarah at the reception desk was amazingly helpful when she checked me in. She was responsive to all my requests and very quick to help. Her readiness to help was obvious, and she meant it.

The lobby area has 24-hour coffee and tea availability, as well as juice machines that also dispense juice all day long. In the mornings, in that same area they serve breakfast, which is consistent with average Best Western standards. There were four tables there, so I can imagine it gets busy sometimes in that area.

My room was on the second floor. While it overlooked the street, there was no noise disruption. The air conditioning system worked beautifully.

Right adjacent to the hotel is a nail salon (Tina is the owner), and it is of top notch quality. It was perfect for getting a manicure/pedicure on the day of the wedding. I felt very secure in the area.

Overall, this hotel is a nice and reliable base for a couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked this Best Western Morton Grove Inn a few nights back. Upon arrival, to their credit, the staff was friendly and accommodating. They promptly got us our room cards and directed us to the back part of the building where our room was located, with the door rooms facing the outside like with motels. First of all, the back area was dark and had very questionable gangster type characters entering/leaving rooms. So we didn't feel very safe right off the bat. Then we entered our room and to our surprise, the room was used: messy bed, towels on the floor, etc. Obviously the cleaning staff missed cleaning that unit. After mentioning this to front desk, the staff quickly gave us new cards for a new room. Then we entered the room, and I just about vomited from the thick smell of smoke in the room. I never thought that the smell of smoke could be disgusting; I've been proven wrong. It was so bad we had to find another hotel as there were no non-smoking rooms available there. And despite the staff being friendly enough to give us the room free of charge, I couldn't stomach the stench despite the freebe.

So bottom line: nice staff, horrible rooms.

Suggestion: skip the non Plus Best Westerns, unless you get a really great deal ($50 or less).

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building don't feel very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Definitely a no frills place, but clean, with fast wireless connectivity.

We were charged $107 for three persons in a double -- a little crowded, with our teenager sleeping in the foldaway. Continental breakfast is from 6 AM. Nothing to write home about. The saving grace, for me, was the reception area, open 24/7, with coffee and TV.

Ice machine and laundromat on the grounds; vending machine with forgettable junk food. There is a restaurant around the corner; no restaurant, only the breakfast service in the reception area.

Staff are friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

During our first trip to Chicago, we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. We loved the complimentary breakfast and the breakfast area was always clean and well maintain. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and will definitely stay again. Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22042tr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The room was very clean and mostly new, and relatively quiet. Nice breakfast with good coffee, good bread, decent OJ and pastry. Better than at most affordable hotels. Apparently well-managed place. Bathroom clean; shower works great. Complimentary internet - fast and works.

It's the Best Western and not the Hilton, but very good value for the price.

Beware of the location. It is far out of town. There is a Metra station within walking distance (30 minutes to Union Station, but not that many trains). They'll call you a cab or possibly give you a shuttle ride depending on availability, though.

Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby-psu-1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice & Clean Hotel. Nicely Remodeled. Very Good Staff. Rates are so reasonable. Public transportation available within couple minutes. Great Location. Everything was so great. No complain at all. Hotel has very good Wi-Fi Connectivity with excellent speed. No matter travelling for leisure or business this is the perfect choice for the money and the services. t.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morton Grove
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Morton Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Morton Grove Inn

Property: Best Western Morton Grove Inn
Address: 9424 Waukegan Rd, Morton Grove, IL 60053-1352 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Morton Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morton Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Morton Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Morton Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Morton Grove Hotel Morton Grove
Morton Grove Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing