We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hot summer night in morton”
Review of Maxine's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maxine's
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a hot summer night in morton”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

excellent meal...quaint atmosphere in old craftsman-style house...excellent, attentive service...all in all a great evening out.We will definately return soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 3119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morton, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent. Always good”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Love the seasonal menu. The cheese plate is a favorite. The flights let you taste many items at one time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dining out on patio was lovely.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The creme brulee! Many apps, drinks and desserts are served in flights. The night we were there, they had three cosmos including blood orange and raspberry. The scallops I ordered were cooked perfectly. The creme brulee flight was coconut, coffee and lavender. Can't wait to return!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fballwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nonexistent dining experience”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had reservations and were seated at our table right away. Our server came to the table and told us about menu items and drink selections. She was very informative, nice, and professional. She left to give us a few minutes to decide on what we wanted to order....and she never came back. Maybe it was because we were seated in the "front porch" area behind a curtain near the entrance where nobody goes and nobody really looks. Maybe it was because the only other table in the "front porch" area had a very young couple that was sucking face so much that our server did not want to come back to that part of the restaurant to wait on us in order to avoid that couple that was turning the "front porch" into a hotel room. Regardless of the reason our server did not come back to our table. Neither she nor anyone else came to our table for over 30 minutes. We waited...and waited...and waited. Eventually, we just left.

By that point it was 7:30 pm and we were rather hungry. Since the staff at Maxine's was too busy or otherwise occupied to bring any food to at least two of their customers that night we decided to drive to Bloomington and try to get a table at Lucca Grill. We made the drive there, got a table, and had some incredible pizza.

We have heard very good things about Maxine's and were very excited to try it out, but we never expected we would simply be seated at our table and abandoned for over 30 minutes. Other than the water than was already on the table when we were seated nothing was ever brought to us. No beverages, no food, no bread, nothing. This was one of the most disappointing and unusual experiences I have ever had at a restaurant. Maybe the server quit or was fired mid-shift? If so, then someone else should have come to our table to let us know another server would be covering our table. We never head anything from anyone.

If you have the desire to try Maxine's on Main I would strongly advise that you insist on NOT being seated in the "front porch" area of the restaurant. You would also be well advised to order as much as you can as soon as anyone comes to your table. Do not take the time to think about anything. To achieve this result you might want to review their menu online before arriving at the restaurant so you can have all of your selections already made before you get there. That way if you are lucky enough to have a server visit your table you can simply give your food and drink order at that time since you might never see them again. Or you can simply go somewhere else that cares about their customers. Good luck.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RP523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremont, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise in Morton!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A warm and comfortable restaurant with contemporary fare and great service. Unfortunately we had to sit upstairs where the ambience is not as nice as the 1st floor; but we didn't have reservations on a busy night; so it was to be expected. Great service, great food. Nice place

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxine's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing