We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asked for a tip!”
Review of China Buffet

China Buffet
Ranked #49 of 65 Restaurants in Morris
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Asked for a tip!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Haven't been here for quite some time; usually avoid it due to the unpleasant service, dark lighting, and food is just OK. This time though I won't be back...no refill on drinks was offered, almost took two plates of food that clearly were not finished, never asked how anything was, just unpleasant service all around...then when signing my receipt, the cashier pointed to the tip line and actually asked for a tip! Now THAT is a first...sorry, no tip deserved and that is just rude.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUGARMOMMA819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a buffet that is just not worth the price. Same food all the time. If you are one of those people that cant eat a smaal cow you may get your monies worth. If you want good chinese food you have to travel to Minooka which is about 10 min. down the road.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeMorrisIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Gone downhill :( Won't be going back”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Been going there for about 1 year, at first it was OK , last time we went, food was not really that good, always the same stuff, they now have raised the price of buffet AND ELIMINATED the crab legs..doesnt make sense..raise the price and take away the best thing on buffet??? Waitress' s are not very pleasant, although u know they speak perfect english, never smile etc.,.Will not be going back :(

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleyguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“nice inexpensive buffet”
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We have eaten here several times on Sunday afternoons. Their buffet has a large selection and we have always enjoyed it. It is inexpensive and a nice family atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crest Hill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than a lot of other Chinese Buffets”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

11-2-09
We took a drive to this restaurant which is about 35 minutes away from where I live, because of word of mouth from people I knew. The Chinese buffets near me are not very good, often serving food that is of poor quality. This buffet is not on the main strip in town (Route 47) and i never knew it was there. I liked the decor in the restaurant. But lets get to the food- they had the typical buffet dishes like orange chicken, szechwan chicken,fried shrimp, fried rice etc. But what they had that I loved was FROG LEGS!! They were so good! They also had a very good roast beef, and roast pork. The chicken sticks on the skewers were really good as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrxtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Buffet also viewed

 

Been to China Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing