We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Bourbonnais, Illinois
2 reviews
“disappointed”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. It was convenient to where we needed to be, but for $100 not worth it. Should have went to Champaign. The rooms especially the bathroom looked like they had just patched places on the floor etc but never bothered to paint the fixes. The breakfast was bad, starting with the coffee I think the machine needed a good cleaning, only had very limited choices, said it had a variety of breads, well white bread is all they had, the jelly on the tables was very old, and the butter was drying up. We went across to the gas station and got coffee. Certainly expected more for the $100 per night and we ask for the senior rate but was not given it. No receipt when we checked out. Will not stay there again. The pool was closed also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maandparob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    55
    23
    9
    18
See reviews for
79
15
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. Sadly, this hardly made up for the hotel itself. The room was damp in spite of the air conditioner running almost constantly. The sheets were a bit damp even. The shower gel and shampoo dispenser in the shower was empty - discovered too late to do anything about it the first night. Figured they'd fill it when they cleaned the room, but got back at the end of a long day and (checking the dispensers first this time) saw that they were still empty. Fortunately, the front desk had "one bottle left" of shampoo and had the last of the large bottle they fill the shower gel dispenser from. The place was generally clean, which is of course a plus but the dampness of the room and the lack of care in keeping it stocked with amenities kind of ruined it for them. All in all, a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModerateTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western for a local wedding, and its convenience cannot be denied. Since this is likely the most amenity-filled hotel in the area, it was great to be able to have the reception in the banquet hall and retire to our room later that evening. Additionally, the hotel is pet-friendly, which allowed us to bring our cat with us for the two nights we stayed without having to look for a sitter.
However, despite being a good choice in town, this Best Western is not perfect. Our room, while fairly large, did not feel very clean - I was glad we were only there for two nights. The furniture and kitchenette looked old and dated. The smell of the pool permeated the front lobby, which was also not great. Finally, the complimentary breakfast options were few and not particularly exciting - mostly just cereal. While we appreciated the convenience, we are glad this was a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was a one night stay while passing through Monticello, IL. Three C's - Clean, Comfortable, Cheap. I breakfast buffet to not great, but the coffee was good. Everything else was OK. The front desk girl was very helpful in suggesting a local place to have dinner. The place she recommend was outstanding. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7503Happyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manisha p, General Manager at Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Best Western Gateway Inn! I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our breakfast choices. We try to provide a variety to please all of our guests, however that is not always possible. We would also like to thank you for utilizing our staffs knowlegde and for recognising the helpful information you were provided with. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in the Managers Apartment recently, and I wanted to say a big thank you. It had 2 seperate bedrooms which was a plus! Comfortable and clean. Thank you again! I will definately stay here again when I come to town!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the parking lot and odd face a beautiful pond, and woods in back. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manisha p, General Manager at Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at Best Western Gateway Inn. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again in a future stay at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The only person on duty could not provide the most basic driving directions, despite my attempt to narrow into the motel on the map provided on the motel's site. She didn't seem the least bit interested in helping me to actually get there, so I canceled my stay. Why are people who are in the service industry so lackadaisical and bored sounding? In this economy, this is the fastest way I can think of to lose business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madge956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manisha p, General Manager at Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay at Best Western Gateway Inn! I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our staff. While we do understand our location can sometimes be difficult to get to, we also urge our guests to try to understand that all of our employees try their best to provide any help they are able to. Please be aware that depending where a guest is calling from, our staff on duty at the time may not know the most convenient directions from your location to our hotel. When that occurs, the best we can do to help you is try to look up online directions from nearest to where your current location is. I do sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction and I hope to see you giving our hotel another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Their pool is disgusting....and their hot tub is out if service, when I asked when it'd be fixed she said "never, we aren't fixing it". Then she told me the bathrooms don't work, no water, can't flush,so I would have to use a different one, or my room.
I didn't have a towel after the pool....but I can RENT one for a certain amount if $$$?! No thanks!!!!!!!!
It's dark, the lighting everywhere needs to be fixed...they need friendlier staff. They need to take care of their pool and pool area and fix their bathrooms!! Terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine6137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manisha p, General Manager at Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at The Best Western Gateway Inn. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not have a superior outcome.

Unfortunately our hot tub is out of commission, and due to the severity of its malfunctions, and cost to repair we have decided not to have it brought back into service at this point in time. Due to our hot to being out of commission, we do not have any advertisement promoting that we have a hot tub. We are a small hotel, and have a small staff. The staff we do accommodate all takes responsibility in keeping our hotel clean. Our pool is many years old and the concrete on the bottom does show through the paint in areas, but i assure you that it is very well maintained and always kept up to date on proper chemicals and treatments to assure that is is not only hygienic, but a fun safe environment for all families staying with us to enjoy.

Again, I apologize for your inconveniences, and hope to see you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
16.7 mi away
Best Western Paradise Inn
19.2 mi away
Ramada Urbana/Champaign
17.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
17.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Champaign-Urbana Univ Area
23.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn

Property: Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn
Address: 805 Iron Horse Pl, Monticello, IL 61856-8145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn is conveniently located right off of Interstate 72, exit 166. There is a full service restaurant next as well as a convenience store located across the street. Additionally, there are several pizza restaurants in town, all of which deliver right to your room. We offered a continental breakfast, free WiFi, a business center, group areas to visit with family and friends, a free newspaper every day, an Olympic size pool, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monticello Gateway Hotel Monticello
Monticello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing