We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bud's Skyline Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bud's Skyline Inn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went for lunch. This place has been here forever and some think it is on the high end of the scale because of the dinner menu. I think of it as a local restaurant. It is next to the airport and you can still see the planes come and go. I sort of thought of this as a local so-so place. I ordered the hot turkey sandwich. I have a certain expectation for a hot turkey sandwich based on one years ago from a restaurant that no longer exists. I was surprised with this one. 2 large slices of bread that were somewhat grilled with turkey in between and gravy. Very good mashed potatoes with skins in them. Very good green beans with some bacon. Everything had good flavor and now I know where I can get a delicious hot turkey sandwich. The gravy was more yellow than brown turkey color but can't complain about the flavor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had dinner at Bud's last night for the first time and it was fantastic. Both had the prime rib and they were both cooked to perfection. Salad bar was good. The service we received from Chrissy was perfect. Very nice and attentitive young lady. We will definetly be recommending this place and going back ourselves.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ForrestG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Like a time machine with so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well, where to begin. Bud's is adjacent to the Quad Cities airport, which probably explains the aviation décor on the inside. But since there really isn't a city skyline in this part of town, the name is slightly misleading.

A rambling, old-school interior caters to a older crowd. But the menu isn't as low-priced as you might think. Entrees come with a trip to the salad bar - a little bit of traditional green salad fixings, but the other half is the Midwestern definition. You know, mayo-based "salads" including potato, pasta/macaroni, cole slaw, etc.

he server was friendly, but obviously overwhelmed by the crowd. When I went to the salad bar, the bread basket that had been delivered to my table was gone when I returned. The ice tea had a funny aftertaste, but that may be the local water or something. But it wasn't pleasant.

The menu itself draws on comfort food. The Beef Stroganoff doesn't adhere to a traditional recipe however. Fettucini replaces egg noodles, and a soupy brown sauce is devoid of sour cream. I found it only average and overpriced.

Bud's also believes in portion distortion. Servings are on the large side, so everyone walks out with a styrofoam container. Personally, I'd rather see this trend change, with "medium" and "large" portions as options.

The crowd all looked like they pretty much knew each other. There's nothing particularly outstanding about this throwback, but I guess it does serve a purpose.

There aren't many dining options near the airport to begin with, but once at Bud's was more than enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Somebody needs to tell them how to make Beef Stroganoff - it was soupy without much fettuccini and hey it's supposed to have sour cream. The sauce should have more taste too.

They have great prime rib and catfish stick with that. By the way, you don't come here for the ambiance

Mike

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoom_in_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Vintage style-quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Definitely not a chain! Vintage airport restaurant. Quality comfort food. Meals include a well-done salad bar. I am very picky when it comes to prime rib, and it was delicious! All the steaks are cut on site from high quality beef, they are a little pricey...but...Yum! My daughter had the half fried chicken, which was really good and it included the salad bar and a side for $12. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssjcjzfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bud's Skyline Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing