We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service and Dry Cakes”
Review of Olde Towne Bakery

Olde Towne Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Moline
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Davenport, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and Dry Cakes”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Everyone in the Quad Cities raves about how wonderful Olde Towne Bakery is for cakes. However, I beg to differ due to my experience. We went here for an appointment with someone to taste test for a wedding cake and to get one ordered. Upon arrival we did arrive 10 minutes early as requested to do so when I made the appointment. The individual we were supposed to meet with never showed and every cake we were able to 'taste' was dry and seemed like they were sitting in a fridge for over a week prior to being eaten. Besides the awful cakes, a no show for the appointment with the baker and being treated horribly like it was our fault that the individual no-showed it was a lovely experience. HA!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank katelynsandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Moline, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh Baked Goodness.”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Donuts are standouts, and fresh baked goodies have homemade taste and are fresh daily.

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bettendorf
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best cakes around”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

this is the best place to get cakes in the QC area. Their buttercream frosting will blow you away. Also melt in your mouth sugar cookies. Great donuts and pasteries, Great eclaires, I've never had anything that was not great from here.

Helpful?
Thank qcnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice selection of sweets; very good chocolate items”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Olde Towne has a great selection of chocolate covered, chocolate layered, and chocolate based cakes and brownies. They also carry donuts, fruit filled pastries, and cookies with mounds of frosting. Many of the items are made with a high level of skill, evident in the flavours and textures. Items keep very well and taste great even days later. This is worth a trip whether you're from the QC or visiting in the area for any reason. Beware that the website seems to be a new effort, so you're better off just calling to see what they have for the day or dropping in. Parking is available with some narrow slots on one side of the building and along the street.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdbangr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities, IL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The iced cookies are yummy”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This bakery has been around for many years. I've had cake and cookies from here and they were great.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimber23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olde Towne Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing