We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chop House experience”

Bass Street Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Bass Street Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 161 Restaurants in Moline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 17th
Description: Bass Street Chop House, located in Moline, Illinois, is a prime steakhouse featuring the finest cuts of hand-selected U.S.D.A. prime and choice dry aged cuts of meat and jet-fresh seafood. Bass Street provides casually elegant fine dining that is complemented by the best-tasting steaks, chops and seafood, skillfully served 7 nights a week. Bass Street Chop House offers the Quad Cities, private dining spaces for special events, outdoor patio and a full service bar. The Chop Bar offers signature cocktails, extensive wine and single malt scotch collection, as well as a light bar menu.
Fond du Lac, WI
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Chop House experience”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We enjoyed the chop house experience at this restaurant. We tend to frequent these kinds of restaurants and this one was consistent with what you would expect at this venue. Excellent quality food - the bone-in ribeye and prime rib were awesome - and the wine selection was very good. Service was courteous and knowledgeable. I know from other reviews that some consider the pacing of the meal slow, but I enjoy the deliberate pacing of a good 5-course meal so didn't mind at all. Pretty typical of others I have been at. The atmosphere was a little loud, but not unduly so. It didn't bother us, but would if I had wanted a more intimate meal. Overall, a place I would visit again if in the same area. By the way, for appetizers the smoked salmon was only OK but for sides the brussel sprouts were great. Pricing typical of chop houses in general - don't go if you aren't ready to drop some silver. Since we were there in December, nice view of the ice skating rink right outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frances564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    40
    22
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Awesome meal before a great concert. Casual atmosphere and courteous wait staff. Food was a good variety and well prepared. Servers were friendly and on top of the game. Never felt hurried and made for an enjoyable evening. Burgers and steak this time there, outstanding!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Have the lobster corn chowder!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we go to a place like this, we like to go all out. And let me tell you - it was well worth it! We went on a Friday, and they were featuring half price bottles of wine, so that was a nice surprise! We had the featured duck appetizer, which was fabulous. We followed that up with a cup of the lobster corn chowder each, and it was to die for. It had just the right amount of kick, and was just amazing. I'd go back for just that! But the rest of the meal did not let us down by any means! I had the 6oz filet mignon and the hubby had the aged Delmonico. We were both very pleased with our steaks. We also ordered bleu cheese potatoes, which I knew I wouldn't eat, but the hubby was suuuuper excited about those. We both had dessert (creme brulee and cheesecake) and a cocktail following dinner. Everything was absolutely fantastic. And our waiter was superb. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the menu. He gave a perfect wine suggestion. And we never felt rushed to make a decision or get moving. He gave us plenty of time between dishes to enjoy before stopping back by to see what else he could do for us. We loved the leisurely experience. We will be going back. Not often, because yes, you do drop a significant amount of money for dinner. But not an unreasonable amount, by any means. It was well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Bass Street Chophouse is a nice part of the QCA food scene. The dry aged steaks were delightful. They were very well prepared. I like mine "black and blue" and it was perfect. The comprehensive Scotch whiskey list was a real treat. I don't know if anyone has a bigger wine list in town.

Only thing stopping a five star review is a couple of service bobbles. It took a long time to get our first round of drinks (really long). The real knock was getting our appetizer and salad at the same time. Not really a good thing.

We will probably go back.

Helpful?
Thank Velohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Better second time”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We wanted to go here for a long time because people had raved about it. Our first Name a couple of months ago was really not impressive. We had gone with friends who had moved back to the area. Before a recent trip out of town we stayed in Moline the night before our flight. This time the meal was out standing. Service was excellent and the English cut of the Prime Rib, you could've cut with a butter knife. The only downside was I couldn't finish it and had no way to take it with me. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iahmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass Street Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Bass Street Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing