We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food!”

The Thatch Inn & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The food!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went here last night for the first time with my boyfriend and i was a bit sceptical due to the exterior. We both had starters, I had a prawn cocktail and it was the best ive had yet, even josh was stealing some off my plate. The main course was also fantastic I had the chicken and chorizo penne pasta in a cream sauce and it was delicious. To finish off we had a chocolate fudge sundae. You get big portions at fair prices, would definitely recommend! The food was fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chantellew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    17
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite lunch haunt”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Been going to the Thatch at least once a month for lunch the past few years. Hubby always loves the honey glazed gammon and I'm partial to their steak pie. However no matter what we have ordered we have always been impressed by quality and portion size. This weeks visit was marred only because of a mix up on dockets meaning our meals had been left under a lamp too long drying the gammon completely and the pie was barely lukewarm. Of course any place can have a bad day so we will no doubt be back soon. All in all a great lunch spot Must one day go for an evening meal and try the upstairs

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suki1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We are here two nights in a row as the food was so nice - the first night we had a bar supper and the second night we ate off the a la carte menu. The portions were excellent and they had a good range of food on offer! You definitely would not come away hungry from here! Nice selections of drinks too - just a shame to see it so quiet upstairs when we were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PianoGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“food for royalty”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

good varied menu well cooked food ,good value for money friendly quick service even prince Charles calles in for a pint when he visits the area,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mounthill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, huge portions”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The food is really good value for money - the portions are generous and the quality is high. Nothing to dislike at all here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatch Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Broughshane, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to The Thatch Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing