We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub grub”

The Thatch Inn & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If your after some good honest pub grub then The Thatch is definitely where it's at. A warm and cosy welcome, with a well varied menu of traditional fair. I can recommend the 10oz sirloin together with a bottle of their Austrailian Shiraz. Couldn't manage a desert !! Perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VIPPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    17
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“long wasted evening”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

were seated at a table that hadn't even been wiped down, when staff were asked to clean the table they wiped one corner and walked off. orders were brought out wrong twice (drinks and main course sides) staff were very inattentive and became increasingly rude when 45 minutes after we have finished our main course we were forced to politely ask for one of them to clear the table. by the end of the meal we were treated as if we were in the staffs why and watched as they served what can only assume to be there local acquaintances first.
food was of an average quality but not worth the prices. champ was bland and not mashed, and all other food had clearly been ready long before staff brought it to the table as my partners sizzler dish wasn't even sizzling anymore.
all in all i wish I'd spent my money on a take-away because the quality would most likely have been better and I at least feel welcome in my house.
wont be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SIKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Thatch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wouldnt eat anywhere else, food excellent (deep fried brie starter highly recommended) huge choice of generously proportioned main courses and a very good range of sweets. Atmosphere excellent, staff very friendly, have never had a bad experience in over 20 years of reasonably regular visits. Well worth a visit. Love the Thatch xx

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity123E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited just before Xmas 2012 with family members including my grandson (6mts) to a homely atmosphere were excellent lunch menu was fairly priced. The staff welcomed us and made the most of the baby ensuring he was attended to as well. The meals varied and each one of us had an excellent well filling meal, I have no problem recommending this Inn and will undoubtly return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fabulous place to eat. Food portions were huge!! Its also great value for money. Next time im back in Ballymena i'll be coming back.
The staff were really friendly.
Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andygray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatch Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Broughshane, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to The Thatch Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing