We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding day”
Review of Laragh Lodge

Laragh Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Glenariffe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wedding day”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

fantastic car park with good disabled access. Plenty outdoor space for children to run about. Staff, food,decor all excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank poppyburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    34
    14
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the Laragh Lodge and have never been disappointed. A year ago we decided we wanted to get married there and booked on the spot. So, 22nd August 2013 was the big day. Gary and the staff were welcoming to all our guests. The meal was amazing. We had roast beef, plenty of good quality food for everyone... Some had 2 even 3 helpings but everyone had enough to eat. Gary also made sure that everyone was catered for, including ensuring that one of our guests had a gluten free meal.

The venue suited us and the location was stunning and if anyone is planning a wedding in Northern Ireland I would certainly recommend looking at the Laragh Lodge!

The service was unbelievable... With Gary driving to Ballycastle to buy super glue to fix a guest's shoe! I cannot think of anywhere else where this would happen. Nothing was too much trouble. And they were so supportive in the run up to the wedding and we had a lovely meal there the day before the wedding too.

We thoroughly recommend Laragh Lodge for coffee and cake, a good meal (we love the steak sandwich) or for a big event like a wedding. And a must have for us on each visit is "French fried onions". The best onion rings we have ever had!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunk_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Quality food in a scenic setting...”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pleasant restaurant nestling in the beautiful Glens of Antrim. Food is high quality and seems to be locally sourced where possible. Decor is rustic and the seating is practical rather than comfortable.
The restaurant offers daily specials keenly priced running alongside an a la carte menu which is sound if uninspiring. Pricing is fair and quantity ample. A handy little watering hole for those who wish to follow the waterfall trail...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doaghtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, But Wonderful People!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I and anoher couple were driving through the lovely Glens of Antrim, in a rental car on an "independent" outing from our cruise ship, which was docked in Belfast, when our tire literally disintegrated on a rural road near Glenariffe. A carload of gracious folks picked us up and took us to the Laragh Lodge Restaurant to wait for assistance and have lunch. The general manager, Gary O'Loughlin immediately made us comfortable and assisted us as much as possible in getting our tire repaired so we could return to the port in time to baord our ship. We had a lovely lunch, including some of the best fish and chips I've ever eaten, in delightful surroundings. The other entrees were excellent and the service was exceptional.

When it became apparent that the rental car company would not be able to repair our tire in time for us to drive to the port, Gary insisted on driving we four all the way to Belfast airport (about an hour away), waited for us to sort out the rental car fiasco and then sped us to the port where we just made it up the gangway before the ship sailed. Gary refused to accept any compensation and was wonderful company to us through the entire experience.

This could have been a terrible experience for us, but thanks to Gary and the staff at The Laragh Lodge, it will be one of the fondest memories of out trip to Ireland. We can wholeheartedly recommend the restaurant, but would suggest you get there some way other than our approach!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Little retreat.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

After a walk through the country park, its a lovely find at the bottom of the forest park.food is great and well priced, staff extremely helpful, and most importantly the only pint for miles, which id well earned after all the walking. A reward at the bottom of the waterfall. I will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brnz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laragh Lodge also viewed

Cushendall, County Antrim
Cushendall, County Antrim
 
Cushendun, County Antrim
Cushendall, County Antrim
 

Been to Laragh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing