We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beef Pie homemade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burrator Inn

The Burrator Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dousland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cask Marque accredited, Free WiFi, Food served all day until 9pm, Live Entertainment every Saturday, Weekly Quiz Night every Sunday 9pm, Family friendly, large Beer Garden with Children's Play Area, Off road parking, En Suite accommodation an AA 4 Star Rated Inn, Disabled Access and disabled toilet facilities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beef Pie homemade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just remembering the brilliant beef pie we ate here 1 month ago. It was so tender & tasty.. Maggy & Colin Widdecombe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    73
    28
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princetown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our group of twenty retired friends had reserved a Christmas Lunch for our monthly get together. There was quite a number of alternative choices to the traditional Christmas fare for those who didn't fancy yet another turkey lunch. Nobody was disappointed though whatever their decision.
The food was more than ample and cooked to perfection. I can also recommend the cheeseboard for afters. Sarah and Phil were at their most attentive.
The ales were excellen especially the Jail Ale that is brewed just up the hill in Princetown
The also do bed and breakfast so if you have a little too much ale you could choose to stay the night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Family friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This family friendly pub is just excellent in every way if you want a warm welcoming atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, I had the cheesecake which was without a doubt the best I have ever tasted (even beats my own!). There is good selection of beers and every Saturday they have live music. Phil, Sarah and the staff make this pub what it is, you would not be disappointed and if for any reason you was they would rectify it for you.

Will be regular visitors here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, Owner at The Burrator Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Appreciate the comments - thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice food and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Been to the Burrator a few time in the pasted and always been disappointed. Not any more pop in for a lunch on a couple of occasions recently and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. good service nice staff will visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good family food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here today having been out to cadover bridge in the cold. We wanted something light as we were eating a roast in the evening. Food was good but limited menu unless you wanted a roast dinner of course. My ploughman's was ok but my daughter's roast pork baguette with hot gravy was tge better bet. Was good value but very much a family pub but I wouldn't come here if I was a couple without kids.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietteS934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burrator Inn also viewed

Meavy, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Burrator Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing