We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Benton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Did the trick”
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Little bit dated and smaller rooms but for the area it works. Nicer and more recent built hotels across the river in Paducah.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAppalachainRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
42
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Friendly front desk personnel once again, which is much appreciated after being on the road and arriving very tired and ready for SLEEP! Good in-room amenities, but keep in mind this is an older property and some fixtures are becoming dated and a bit worn out. (the room was super CLEAN and didn't even smell like a smoking room, which it was) My tub/shower floor was "squeeky" and felt "loose", like it's becoming detached from the walls, and there were some cracked tiles and an aging fridge, micro & coffee maker, but they WORKED! So no worries! Due for renovation soon? I have stayed here many times and I am just now noticing the decline. But the service, cleanliness and BEDDING are my most important requirements. Surprisingly tasty complimentary breakfast choices! Thanks! Since I was exhausted and just wanted to go to sleep I did not alert the front desk w/an issue with the door lock. The deadbolt did not line up properly but I DID manage to get it secure after a few tries. It looked as though someone has tried to fix it before and the work has come "un-done" again. As I was checking out I told them about it and they were VERY apologetic. I will utilize this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Toes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
280 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We left Florida and drove 12 hours straight, we arrived late. The service was top notch, we were warmly welcomed and since we are Platinum member we received some nice treats and water. The rooms were very clean, fresh and everything in the room worked perfectly. We went down for breakfast right at 6:30 am and breakfast was ready to go, no waiting. They had all the breakfast items that Holiday Inn Express normally has and everything was well stocked, hot and clean. We would stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devilstowerwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stopped here one night on our way home from Florida. Room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Bed was super! Breakfast area was clean and attractive and breakfast was fine. Staff was friendly and efficient. We will stay here again. Stop at the wayside park off the interstate and take your photo as Superman!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brew_cru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stopped here for one night on a long road trip. Our room was nice, and the kids enjoyed the complimentary fresh-baked cookies and the pool.

The location is definitely out of the way, even for a small town. It's a several mile drive to the nearest restaurant, so we opted for delivery for dinner.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brew_cru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a one night "on the road" stay at this property after driving -all day- N to S across Illinois. The hotel was fine, gave us an upgrade due to our Platinum status. Room was clean and morning breakfast was OK. So since this is a review of the property we'll rate it satisfactory but a word of warning if you want to grab a bite it's pretty much fast food hamburgers and pizza hut, nothing we could find via trip advisor or urban spoon worth eating at in the the town a mile west of the hotel (there is a casino but the restaurant was expensive and not rated highly).

Room Tip: Get as far west as you can away from the interstate noise. A backside room away from the 2 lane roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Every two years we head to Metropolis to see family. We've been going back to this HIE for the past 12 or so. Usually, 10-15 rooms are booked by our family when we arrive. I can't say enough about the staff. Very friendly, each year we've been, and willing to accommodate early/late arrivals, extra towels, etc. It is a standard hotel room, nothing frilly, but then again, why would you need that in Metropolis? The breakfast is very good. They are quick to replace items that are out. Cinnamon buns are exceptionally good! However, this past summer, their new pancake machine was not working!!! We were really bummed at that. My kids are talking about coming back in two years just to try it! The only other downside is that they often put too much chlorine in the pool. You need to shower immediately after getting out if you don't want to itch for hours. However, that did not stop us from using it three days in a row. Also, open the rear sliding doors if it gets too steamy. I'd recommend Yesterday's BBQ on 10th street. Also very friendly and accommodating. Down near Superman Square, which is a must see too, is Farley's cafeteria. Most of their food is homemade. Not much atmosphere, but you can get some good home-cooked grub.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arminius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
3.0 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
1,884 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#3 of 6 in Metropolis
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Auburn Place Hotels and Suites
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Paducah
Comfort Inn Paducah
#13 of 29 in Paducah
349 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Property: Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
Address: I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Metropolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, Illinois. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, IL, is located at the intersection of I-24 and US 45 at exit 37, across the Ohio River, about 7 miles from Paducah, KY. Just minutes from Harrah's Casino on the river, and Fort Massac State Park, host of the 19th century re-enactment, 'The Encampment.' And of course, Metropolis is also the Home of Superman, and features a 15-ft tall statue of Superman and a million dollar Super Museum! We are also the closest town to Mermet Springs/Mermet Lake Conservation Area, where you can go scuba diving, hiking, picnicking, fishing and hunting, all in the same area. Come and enjoy the new Express Start Refresh breakfast bar featuring our cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, crispy bacon strips, sausage patties, biscuits & sausage gravy, yogurt, and Smart Roast coffee, among other items. We also have an indoor pool and spa for your recreation, along with a fitness center. All guest rooms feature the Simply Smart exclusive line of amenities, bedding, and the one and only Stay Smart shower head. Passing through or visiting Metropolis, IL? Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel.We are situated just outside Paducah, KY, about half way between St. Louis, MO, and Nashville, TN, posing as an ideal overnight stop for long-distance travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Holiday Inn Metropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing