We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Upon arrival the hotel check in clerk looked like a dirty unshaven slob. The staff was not at all friendly. The hotel has a nice appearance outside, in the main lobby, and breakfast area but rooms are a different story! the rooms are very outdated and old looking in need of repair. The carpet is very dusty alongside the walls. The furntiure is very old with broken handles. Bed is very uncomfortable and hard. (Had a backache both mornings!) Old tube television with grainy picture. The bathroom had a broken toilet seat and tub/shower was dirty looking. They are very stingy with the towels. Only had one tiny bar of soap to share in shower and sink area. Smells of a stale smoke in rooms. The continental breakfast wasn't too great.~ Not much to pick from. We stayed here because of the BBQ cookoff going on so when we come back next year for this we will definately not be staying here again! I believe this is the worst hotel we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freebird62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here one night in last month. The location was great as you could walk less then a mile and see all the Superman statue and other Superman items. The downtown murals were also neat. If interested in Harrah's it is located across the parking lot. There is also a indoor swimming pole opened 24 hours. The breakfast is your normal high carb items. We would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in a suite at this hotel for 51.00 (Internet Price)
The hotel definetly could use some updates to the furnishings.
The room was not sparkling clean,just barely clean really.
The breakfast was just an ordinary continental one.
The location is right next to the Oh. River and Harrahs Casino,about 3 miles off I-24.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissouriCountryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

For the cheap price we paid we couldn't ask for more. Don't go in expecting a 5 star hotel and you will be pleasantly surpirsed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was curtious and even looked up directions for us. The windows actually open which is a rare gem in hotels today. Decor is a little outdated but not bad. Nice indoor pool, easy parking, check in/out. Rooms had cable and table w/ two chairs which was nice to not have to lay on bed to watch tv. To the others that gave this hotel a bad review....you get what you pay for. I actually thought we got more value for our 55.00 than anywhere else with that price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwanttoseeamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

The Baymont is a nice hotel with a good layout, and an indoor pool. Their continental breakfast is nice and are located on the Ohio Riverfront and next door to Harrah's Casino. The rooms are ok and everything is kept in good order. This is a good location to pick if visiting the Superman festival because it is only a few blocks away from the town square. However, if you are just passing through and need a little entertainment in the early evening, I would recommend staying or traveling over to Paducah (only 10 miles away).

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank natalya1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We had initially made reservations on line, but my mother-in-law found travel coupons for less. The front desk accepted the coupons. This hotel is right next to the casino so if you aren't too particular about where you stay this is a good deal. The rooms were clean, wish they had queen instead of double beds. The breakfast was good and very friendly staff. The only issue we had was the pool and hot tub were pretty dirty. I was however very impressed that the next day they were draining the hot tub and cleaning it! Too bad we weren't able to use it. For the price it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

After checking in with the front desk, we were directed to the exterior entrance closest to our room. We could not open the door with the key card. We located a maintenance man and he could not open the door either. He did inform us that maintenance "sucked" at the hotel. As we walked with him to another exterior door (quite far from our room), a window screen fell out into our path.
While opening our suitcase, we heard a crash, it was a panel off of the heater that fell to the floor.
Next I went to get some ice from the ice machine.....i't didn't work. Neither did the other ice machine.
I came back to the room to change, and noticed an inch and a half gap at the bottom of the door. You could clearly see the carpet pattern of the hallway floor.
The box spring was stained with God knows what, and we got about half the tv channels we were supposed to.
Never again will we stay there.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank ILRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
0.1 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
2,307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#4 of 6 in Metropolis
410 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Paducah
Comfort Inn Paducah
#16 of 28 in Paducah
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis

Address: 203 E Front St, Metropolis, IL 62960-2258 (Formerly AmeriHost)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range: $45 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Metropolis Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing