We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIRTY AND OUTDATED ROOM 2ND FLOOR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DIRTY AND OUTDATED ROOM 2ND FLOOR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This past weekend i was there for my niece graduation at carborndale il. we rented rooms. the first floor suite was clean and it smelled good. the second floor however is a dfiffernt story. the room was not clean there was hair all in the sink. the bathtub was dirty looking. the 2nd floor and room stink really really bad. if you are thinking about staying here then do not get a room on the second floor. the room was also very outdated.

Room Tip: take a room on the first floor and not the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn m, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Good morning,

I do apology that your room was not up to standards as it should have been. I am happy to hear that the staff was able to accommadate you in another room.

Please be assured the issues have been addressed with the housekeeping staff so that does not happen again.

SIncerely,

Dawn Maloney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    120
    124
    66
    45
See reviews for
150
148
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

On our way to Nashville we happened upon the sign for Harrah's Casino. Since we were planning to stop for the night soon, we decided to check out the area. We were able to stay at the Baymont Inn Metropolis for the same price as the hotel attached to the casino (just had to ask if they would match the price on Hotwire), and I preferred the Baymont Inn because it had a pool and hot tub. While the hotel could use some cosmetic improvements, we were quite satisfied overall. The front desk clerks were very friendly & helpful. It felt like a safe area and it was neat to see the barge on the Ohio River! They had a lift for the pool and the hot tub also, which isn't available everywhere. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn m, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
:Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback!

We are glad you had nice expenice at the Baymont Inn and in Metropolis.

Next time your travels bring you to the area, we would be happy to accommodate you.

Sincerely,

Dawn Maloney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we checked in there was food on the floor and chair seats. Chair arms were very sticky and remote was smeared with something brown (chocolate, I hope). At least the sheets and towels appeared clean. I left a long note for management at the front desk the following morning but, upon checkout 2 days later, none of the items had been cleaned or addressed. Shockingly, management did not leave us a card or try to contact me regarding deficiencies. Additionally, the staff member in charge of the continental breakfast was wearing gloves (for sanitation presumably) but then emptied the garbage and went back to food prep without changing gloves or washing hands. In the hallways there was dust and dirt in all the corners as if everything got a quick pass with the vacuum but, never gets a good cleaning. There was a quilt convention in a neighboring town and the hotel was rather full and I had a cold shower 2 days in a row. I understand that the hotel was full but, there should be enough hot water capacity for all the rooms you book or upgrade your water heaters. At check out, the night clerk interrupted the day desk clerk three times to show her pictures on his cell phone. He clearly saw no issue in ignoring a customer and slowing down his co-worker. I'm not sure if the lack of attention to details starts with management and goes from the top down or if there truly aren't enough front line staff to accomplish the work and management just doesn't care. This could be a very nice place to stay if it was given a thorough cleaning and management and staff took a course on customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
2 Thank LucyRAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn m, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in the several areas.

Thank you for sparing your time in completing our Feedback Form and bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely apology.

We have addressed and taken corrective action.

Your comments will help us serve you and all our guest better in the future.

We apologise for the annoyance/inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry.


Sincerely,

Dawn Maloney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
0.1 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Paducah
Comfort Inn Paducah
#8 of 29 in Paducah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Paducah
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
5.6 mi away
Drury Suites Paducah
Drury Suites Paducah
#4 of 29 in Paducah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
Address: 203 E Front St, Metropolis, IL 62960 (Formerly AmeriHost)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Metropolis Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing