We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get a lot for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Metropolis
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a nice hotel with great clean comfortable rooms. I would defiantly stay again for the price. Rooms were really well decorated and up to date. Has the feel of a very expensive hotel for the price of a cheep motel. We were on our way to St Louis and needed a place to stay for the night and the price was so good we could not pass it up. But there are some negatives that should be mentioned. You should know this hotel/casino has an almost all 65+ clientele as someone mentioned it is a great place for "snowbirds" or retirees getting away for cold. Me and my husband really wanted a good night sleep this place was great because it was really quiet. But this place would be boring for young kids.

Despite the beautiful look of the place(inside) it does tend to have a slightly musky smell to the place, but it is not horrible like some hotels. This is not a hotel for a family vacation, there is really nothing in the town of Metropolis, not even basic stores. To get anything that can not be found at a dollar general or the local (non chain)supermarket and a couple fast food places you have to drive back 25-30 mins across the state line to Paducah. The neighborhood and view from outside is pretty bad. I was not very optimistic driving in even with the good reviews. But I was pleasantly surprised with the inside of the hotel and the room itself. We got the room for 32$ including tax if you use the hotels website and most of the websites posted at 41 before taxes. The room itself could easily go for 100+ if it were in a good neighborhood closer to the freeway.

As far as casino's go, if you are not a retiree, I doubt you would enjoy. It is small and not anything like the Vegas casinos(heck it is not even close off the strip small casinos in Vegas) I used to live by an Indian casino in a fairly remote area and it was 3 times as big.

My biggest problem was finding decent food. No free breakfast, and I do not eat a big breakfast so the buffet was too expensive for a light breakfast, so our only real option was McDonalds. And we could not leave early because we had a phone meeting in the morning so we were kind of stuck. If I were to go here again I would stop at a store in Paducah and bring something to eat with me. The room has a mini fridge and great big tub.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy Traveler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,064 - 2,070 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several years now on our return from Florida. The rooms are clean and modern, great bathrooms with granite vanities etc. The front desk clerk was very helpful. There had been a mixup in my call to the 800 number for reservations, and she cheerfully helped me with the issue. We look forward to staying here each spring

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed at Harrah's Metropolis twice for one night about 10 days apart recently. Both nights were comped by CET's Total Rewards program. Both were rooms with king beds, the rooms were clean and quiet. We slept very well both nights. The bathrooms were large, with a large soaking tub/shower combo, and a separate room for the toilet. Free WiFi worked well, but the large flat screen TV only had standard def content, no HD. There was also a small refrigerator in the room. All in all, very nice, no complaints, especially at the price! Employees encountered were pleasant and professional. No problems at check in or check out.

Only ate in the buffet for dinner once. It is okay, but small, with limited selection. We paid with TR points, but at $20 for dinner, we thought it was overpriced for what it delivered.

The casino is small and cramped, needs updating. An employee said they are moving off the barge, and into the hotel convention space later this year, that would be a welcome change. Like all Illinois casinos, it is non smoking, which we like.

We passed through this area going to, and returning from Florida, and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We got this place on sale for $42 + taxes. The room was incredible for that price. They aren't there to make money of the hotel rooms. They obviously want you to gamble in the casino, which we did. We lost a little cash but had a good time trying to make a little cash. All in all a good stop on the road, exactly half-way between Chicago and Atlanta (our two points of travel).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetinman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel was very clean, it is in town, so no traffic noise. It is about 5 miles off the freeway. The casino is nothing special,, buffet was great! Neighborhood the hotel is in is a bit questionable. Overall a very nice stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank c3pon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a nice 2 night stay. Nice room at a very good price ($107.00 for 2 nights) All the staff was friendly & helpful. Get a Total Rewards card. (since we were new we got a free buffet!) We had a nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on 5-6-or-7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Harrah's Metropolis for work and I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. The rooms are large, updated and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and eager to make your experience a great one. I would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#3 of 6 in Metropolis
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Metropolis
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
5.7 mi away
Auburn Place Hotels and Suites
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Paducah
Comfort Inn Paducah
#15 of 28 in Paducah
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Metropolis

Address: 100 E Front St, Metropolis, IL 62960-2257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range: $61 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Metropolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harrah's Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Harrahs Metropolis Hotel
Harrahs Hotel Metropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing