We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Metropolis
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stopped in Metropolis while on a road trip. The hotels in Metropolis are bleak and not great, except for the Harrah's. We got a room last minute for $80 a night off of Expedia. The room was huge. The bath tub was amazing and I had the best night's sleep on their mattress. The breakfast in the morning wasn't bad for $8. Not as good as most casino buffets, but they have a custom omelet and eggs to order stand. If you can get a decent room rate I would recommend this over any other roadside motels in the area, definitely worth the extra $30.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,089)
There are newer reviews for Harrah's Metropolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,997 - 2,003 of 2,089 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Harrah's at Metropolis has nice, clean rooms, with comfortable beds. Staff was friendly and helpful, including the valets, the bellmen, the front desk, and casino staff. It is a big place, though, with quite a distance to walk, both to the room, and to the casino--something to keep in mind, if you have trouble walking, or have someone in a wheelchair. Reasonable price for a quite decent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed at. The beds were so soft and comfy i just wished i could have stayed there forever. Nice clean rooms and great service. Everyone was very helpful & friendly. The valet people were the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froggy042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was farther than the interstate than I realized, but once we arrived it was fun.

The hotel itself is on land, but its attached to a casino that is a barge and a boat connected. There is a hallway with a lineup of historic slot machines leading up to the casino (we didn't gamble but the late night restaurants are located on the barge).

I really enjoyed the staff as they were very knowledgeable of the town history. Apparently Metropolis IL is where the original Superman movie was filmed. Lois Lane lives there currently and the newspaper is named The Planet.

The rooms were immaculate with extra deep tubs.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infinityfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First off, I did not stay at this hotel, so I can not comment on the rooms. I ate dinner at the Fresh Buffet. This has to be the worst buffet I have ever eaten at. The selection is small and most of the food did not taste that great. It was quite a let down for a casino buffet. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshr911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

So we came up here for the Saturday evening to finish up the Great Race to Rewards Promotion. We did come up here for the same thing the year before but I figured I would write a review since nothing has changed.
The Hotel is very nice. I would compare the hotel to staying in a Hilton. The lobby is tastefully decorated and well appointed. The check in desk is large and efficient. Next to it is the VIP room with free coffee. The lobby has a bell desk right off it along with a large sitting area. Once again it is very nice and very modern.
The elevator is a short walk from the lobby and there are only 7 floors to the Hotel. A quick elevator will get you to your room.
As you enter a typical room you will have a small Marble foyer. Right off the foyer is the Bathroom with a large marble sink with plenty of storage and counter space for your toiletries. There is a large combo tub/shower which is very deep. Also in the bathroom is a separate room for the toilet.
We had a room with a king bed, in which it is a above average size room with a full size couch sitting chair and coffee table. Once again the room is very nicely appointed and has adequate storage and a safe. The TV is a large 32 inch flat screen, however it is an old tube TV but still modern enough. We have a view of the River which looks out at the Casino and the walkway. It was a very nice view and once again a very nice Hotel.
However once you get pass the Hotel, the Casino is a dump.
Now I know that it is not going to be big, since the casino is on a 3 story riverboat. But for God sakes clean the place up.
You enter throught the lobby, which is very small and walk down a ramp. Once you get to the casino it doesn't look that bad. You have the diamond lounge to your left along with the total rewards desk. To your right is the Range Steakhouse, the Buffet and ACES Diner. There is a little bit of slot machines around this area then you walk onto the real boat with the actual casino.
The first floor has the table games which is maybe about a dozen tables. Scattered around real tightly is slot machines. The cage is located on this floor and this is the only cage on the whole boat. There is also no bar on the main floor. Instead they are on the 2nd and 3rd floor.
The 2nd floor has mostly slot machines and to the right of the slot machines, maybe a quarter of the second floor is the video poker machines. Now these are some of the worst pay tables in the United States. There is a bar to the left of the 2nd floor.
On the 3rd floor is where they do the promotions, and to the left of it is a small bar with about a dozen seats. Then they decide to scatter a few slot machines around the 3rd floor.
But this is where the dump comes in. The walls of the casino has holes in it. The carpet is so thread bare that a house in a ghetto would have better floors than this. The slot machines are so old and tired that half of them wouldn't take money or wouldn't read your card. Then my personal favorite, is if you don't take the elevator to the floors there are narrow steep stairways. But in those stairways are spiderwebs and holes in the wall. Now come on, clean the place up.
Oh and did I mention, first off during the weekend the place closes from 7am-9am, so there is no excuse to clean and sweep the place from top to bottom. The bathrooms also don't look like they have had a deep cleaning for quite some time. Also this place is non-smoking so these aren't even cigarettle burns or mess from cigs.
I just can not believe how bad of a casino this is. I travel and play in many casinos. And I have been in a few so called dumps. The Imperial Palace in Vegas is a billion times better than this rat trap.
Plus once again the Gambling is aweful. We hardly gambled and we still one about a hundred. But we would not gamble anymore since the odds were so bad and the selection was terrible.
And to top it off, I had a free buffet from a mail offer and it was absolutely like dog food. They charged $19 for dinner on Saturday and maybe had about 12 choices of entrees and the food was terrible. Im talking stale chicken, oven baked ribs, mushy fish, and a fatty dried out roast beef from the carving station. There is no way I would of paid $9 for this meal. Just terrible.
Like I said for a Hotel, it is very nice. A lot better than some of the properties in Vegas in Tunica. But the casino, what a joke. I can not even believe Harrahs puts their name on it. I have been to probably over 50 casinos in the US and this is the cruddiest, dirtiest, and most gloomy one ever. Fix the thing up, take some pride and stop thinking this is a world class casino.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeLuvVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This casino is nothing like what you will find in Vegas or even Biloxi . This is a very small plain casino. Not many table games and mostly just a lot of slots. The hotel was very nice with a great view of the river. Skip the restaurants. The range is the casinos upscale steakhouse but is overpriced and not close to being as good as an outback steakhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyjcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#3 of 6 in Metropolis
398 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Auburn Place Hotels and Suites
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Paducah
8.2 mi away
Paducah Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Metropolis

Address: 100 E Front St, Metropolis, IL 62960-2257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range: $66 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Metropolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Harrahs Metropolis Hotel
Harrahs Hotel Metropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing