We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“house wins”

Harrah's Metropolis
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“house wins”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

if you gamble to win, you are probably disappointed most of the time. these slots were tight, but we broke almost even.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    130
    87
    35
    33
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tight Slots”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are some very nice people that work at Harrah's Metropolis. But they hardly make up for the overly tight slots. And, they have so many slots crammed on this boat that you can hardly move around. It's noisy and in some part of the boat very warm. Go to have fun - don't go expecting to hit it big.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TENN_Beach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Three levels at casino, the first floor has the card tales and "high" betting machines.
Most of the machines are the same. I liked the 1cent machines but they didn't have any for the Keno.
The staff were friendly and everything was well kept and clean. The food there isn't highly priced and was great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ckvalley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Disappointed, it has changed for the worse”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been to this casino many many times in the past and decided to go again since its been a couple months.
They changed the layout of the casino floor again, hardly any slot machines on the first floor or third. Now, the second floor is nothing but noisy nickel machines. They have alot less slot machine they they did before, they place seemed vacant.
We also did the buffet, which has really gone down hill. I dont know what they charged 14 to 18 dollars a person and what was on the buffet, HOT DOGS, hamburgers, pizza and starches like grits and white beans. They lost the Chinese section, the clam strips and the salad bar is very small and no shrimp.
I dont think I will return, would rather drive farther to bigger casinos where the food is better and more machines.
The machines were very tight, didnt take long to loose several hundred dollars in less then 5 hours. Still even if I had won, the lack of machines and lack of decent food is enough to keep me away.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KraZynTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't go to win...go to have fun”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have to agree with all the reviews about tight slots. We did win some, but not much. Layout of casino is a little odd..you have to either take the stairs or the elevator to get to other floors unlike other that have an escalator. Plenty of penny slots if that is what you like. Staff very friendly. Did not try the buffet there...did not win enough to even get a free buffet!!! Very short drive from Paducah Ky. Best part of casino is it is all non-smoking...at least what I saw. Did not stay at hotel, but looked okay..no pool?? Don't go to win...go to have fun. You are paying dearly for entertainment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sacgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrah's Metropolis also viewed

 

Been to Harrah's Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing