We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Roadside Attraction!

Of course no one could stop here and not get out and get a pic with Superman! He’s right there in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Spowerguy
,
Englewood, Tennessee
via mobile
Fun stop

Hometown of Superman. Fun stop to have your picture taken with the 15 foot tall superman. Pay $5.00... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
IllinoisKate1
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 572 reviews
  
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
293
176
86
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
176
86
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street take pictures fun photo daily planet fun stop city hall phone booth road trip roadside attraction pit stop larger than life cut outs small town all ages comic book photo opportunity gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Who can turn down a chance to see "the largest Superman collection in the world?" My wife and I visited on 11/10/18 on our way home from Florida. The superman statue was large, but interestingly not as large as the Grocery Jim statue in front of the local grocery store. The museum did contain a very impressive collection of Superman memorabilia including original props and costumes from the various Superman shows and movies. The staff at the museum was also friendly and helpful. However, the museum is housed in an old building and due to "in progress renovations" of the top floor, many of the items are being exposed to dust and are not properly protected. This is a shame considering that many of the items are one of a kind, historically significant items. As the biggest tourist draw for this small town you would think the leaders of the town/local business leaders would invest in a more modern, up to date location to house the collection and prevent damage that could lead to the loss of these rare items.

Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Of course no one could stop here and not get out and get a pic with Superman! He’s right there in downtown!! What a neat place with a retro pop culture feel!

Thank Spowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hometown of Superman. Fun stop to have your picture taken with the 15 foot tall superman. Pay $5.00 and walk through the museum.

Thank IllinoisKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Follow the signs to the statue...they get you there! You can park just about anywhere to get pictures of the various Superman items (booth, statues, wall pics, etc.)

Thank MGracie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Give the town of Metropolis a big hand for marketing the Superman angle. I am always nonplussed that other locations don't do better jobs of capitalizing on such connections. It is easy to drop off the interstate to see the statue. Actually, there is a second statue of Superman jumping off the upper level of a building (terrific!). The statue is at the foot or head of a street of what looks like charming little shops to visit, but unfortunately we did not have time to explore them. It does not take long to visit and take photos, and although it is pretty kitchsy, it is still nicely done for what it is. We were glad we took the detour to see it.

1  Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We left the interstate to go see the statue and eat. We did the usual tourist thing and took pictures of the kids standing with superman. Eat at a local restaurant while in Metropolis as there are some really good choices.
There were a few shops worth exploring. Small town friendly atmosphere.

1  Thank kentdan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We had fun taking pictures with the giant statue of superman in the middle of the city area . We also visited the museum that said across the street. We purchased a couple of souvenirs for our great grandchildren nieces and nephews they really enjoyed the gifts.

Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

I can never get enough of Superman. This time around we did not go into the Superman store nor museum. I stand there and look at it and wonder how the heck did somebody built it so heavy and big. Very simple direction s. Just like going to Harris Casino but you turned the opposite direction.......and there he is. It is surrounded by a short fence. People climb over it to take pictures.

Thank 671perlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Truth - Justice - The American Way

Totally worth the short detour to take photos with the giant statue and all of the Superman/Supergirl cutouts. We also enjoyed the gift shop across the street. (pressed penny machine inside)

There was a mural on the side of one of the buildings that was pretty cool, too. I included a photo of it as well.

1  Thank SKGlo0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for a picnic lunch at the state park and then drive over to the Superman statue. It was a fun little photo op.

Thank KatherineH1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews