We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again (Super 8)”
Review of Super 8 Mendota

Super 8 Mendota
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Mendota
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Saint Paul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again (Super 8)”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We opted to stay at a Super 8 to save $24 that a neighboring chain hotel was charging. Never again! What a terrible experience. The young lady running the desk was most friendly but that was the only favorable thing about this hotel stay. Our room had an intense smell of urine. After :30 minutes we knew we couldn't stay in it and were given a different room. Far from impressive but at least no urine smell. The place seemed run down and in a state of disrepair (or neglect). Turns out the room we were first given is sometimes given to guests with pets, which we didn't have. Not sure why we were assigned the "pee room" in that case. Next time I'll spend the extra money even though our stay was only for a short sleep during travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy O, General Manager at Super 8 Mendota, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I truly apologize for the experience you had at our Super 8.
The room you started out in is designated as a pet free room.
Unfortunately someone must have brought a pet in that room.
Thank you for letting me know, I have cleaned the carpet in that room
I look forward to you giving us another chance to serve you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    66
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
67
33
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Welcomeing smile at check in and she made my day after a hard day at work very friendly and helpful..And beautiful I had to come back for a second night. The motel was average and as long as she Marta (guest services) is still there we will be staying here a whole lot. Working in the area. Brandon J

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy O, General Manager at Super 8 Mendota, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My rating has improved since my first stay. I stay about twice a month and the person that is usually at the desk when I arrive remembers my name. They make sure I have a preferred room, and everyone is helpful and pleasant. I have also been able to use their wireless internet. Would recommend for a quick overnight stay at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Luann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy O, Manager at Super 8 Mendota, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for returning to our Hotel. I enjoyed our little chat and look forward to seeing you agin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendota
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Mendota
71 reviews
13.0 mi away
Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park
18.0 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Peru
76 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
13.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Mendota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mendota

Property: Super 8 Mendota
Address: 2601 East 12th Street, Hwy 34 East & I-39 Exit 72, Mendota, IL 61342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mendota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mendota 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Mendota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Mendota
Mendota Super 8
Mendota Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing