We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of Super 8 Mendota

Super 8 Mendota
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Mendota
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Reviewed October 14, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stacy O, General Manager at Super 8 Mendota, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Mendota
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 202 reviews

A Wyndham traveler
MARSHFIELD
1
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stacy O, General Manager at Super 8 Mendota, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This Super 8 is about half the price of staying at a Super 8 in Ottawa (which is where I really wanted to be) so I booked it, not realizing that it's a HALF HOUR drive from Ottawa (hotel was listed as being only 18 miles from Ottawa). It's crazy that they can charge so much for such a shabby and absolutely bare-bones place. It's damp, not very clean (I had to ask the desk clerk to clean my coffeepot) and rooms have no microwave/fridge. The TV was old and the picture was so dark I could barely make out what was on the screen. No sink in the bathroom. The security doesn't seem good here--people can walk in and out at will without going past the front desk. A McDonald's is right next door, but otherwise the place is basically a deserted highway stop... only thing nearby is a DelMonte canned food factory. However, there are some pluses. The blanket on my bed was in good condition and VERY soft, and they do provide nice soap, shampoo and conditioner. The coffee isn't too bad in the breakfast area, and they do have cereal and honey buns etc but no healthy options. Wake-up calls were reliable. I didn't hate the place, but it's inconveniently located and way overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyermontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

When we travel, we usually look for a room that is clean without frills at a reasonable price. This place fit the bill perfectly. Only bad thing is the lack of nearby dining choices.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrusinCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is NOT what the motel looks like:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g36355-d87873-Reviews-Super_8_Mendota-Mendota_Illinois.html
This is what it REALLY looks like:
http://www.hotelsone.com/mendota-hotels-us/super-8-motel-mendota.html?label=ggehoeu-bh225069_super%208%20mendota&gclid=CM2ngPmTiawCFaEBQAodxEPC_A

The main hallway to the motel is NOT kept locked. I was told that they always leave the back door unlocked because it is easier for them and for guests. This makes all guests vulnerable to theft and unregistered guests coming into the motel at any time.

My room smelled like smoke. I was told by the staff that this was because 'they guy who always stays in that room smokes even though he is not suppose to' (not good management!)

I was told that the motel was due for renovation soon....so maybe they will get it right then.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
Thank aliasgeomiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I am willing to over look a lot of things as long as they are pet friendly. The staff here was very pleasant. Rooms not the cleanest that I prefer, but acceptable. I found the bed to be very comfortable-
Easy access off the high way and
5Stars for being pet friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerDogMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

It was a very nice place to stay.
They have every thing we needed in a room. There is a coffee maker, hair dry, & internet.
The TV had more station then most hotels.
The staff was great with one exception the clerk who checked us in needs to not talk on the phone to her childern while checking in people. I heard he say " will you need to talk to you dad about that"
She stayed on the phone the whole time she was waiting on me.
I talked to the Manager the next morning. She was very nice and said she will talk to the clerk.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happylady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendota
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Mendota
72 reviews
13.0 mi away
Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park
18.0 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Peru
80 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
13.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Mendota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mendota

Address: 2601 East 12th Street, Hwy 34 East & I-39 Exit 72, Mendota, IL 61342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mendota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Price Range: $58 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mendota 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Mendota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Mendota
Mendota Super 8
Mendota Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing