We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and fantastic”
Review of Waterfalls - CLOSED

Waterfalls
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Princeton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fresh and fantastic”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We dined as a family of 4 early on a Friday evening. While we had no trouble getting a table, the place was full by the time we left. What a great find. The decor is attractive, save for a couple of eyesore big screens in the bar area. It has a loft feel with exposed brick and high table seating. My DD age 14 had the salmon and it was perfect. Not too dried out or swimming in sauce. DD age 8 had the house made taquito and it was impressive. Clearly not from a box, and it came with a salad and toppings. The salsa is served heated and had lots of flavor without being too hot. My husband and I shared the fajita for two and it was huge. Tons of fresh veggies and plenty of warm tortillas. Or server was friendly and clearly knew the menu. The owner/manager stopped by our table when he heard it was our first visit. Waterfalls has an upscale feel at a reasonable price point. We may go back next week too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy61356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really like this place. The wait staff and bartenders were very friendly. It is unlike anything else in mendota-great atmosphere. The food was wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBackyardTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large portions, great food, upscale”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Went to the train museum right across the road and came here for lunch and was surprised at the quality and price. My daughter got the kids cheese burger and it was huge. The hot salsa was great too. Overall a nice find in a small town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearpcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not only was the food prepared individually, the service was prompt, pleasant, and very helpful. Explanations of the menu items were very thorough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Casual Mexican/American cuisine in Mendota, IL”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Susan and I recently went to Waterfalls for the terrific Thursday evening special, Fajitas for two. You have a choice of either chicken or beef, both are excellent. The portions are great and include a small salad, rice, refried beans and a margarita for each. The atmosphere is as stated, casual. Quiet atmosphere, well mannered and informed serving staff make the occasion very enjoyable. Junior and Sheila are gracious hosts. If you are in the Mendota area on a Thursday evening, it is well worth your time to give Waterfalls a try

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing