We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful property – Perfect for a relaxing...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mons, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
normanOsl...
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful property – Perfect for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our party occupied both the ‘Les Deux Chevaux’ and ‘La Loge du Chauffeur’. Both are nicely decorated and well maintained. Considerable time and effort has obviously been spent on styling the apartments and it is clear that those who did knew what they were doing. These are not your typical holiday flats. All rooms are well sized according to their function. The main differentiating factor would be that the kitchen in La Loge du Chauffeur is slightly more useable if you are planning on doing a considerable amount of food preparation in the apartment. But this is nitpicking really, as both are fantastic places to base your holiday!
The apartments are situated within two beautiful old buildings, surrounded by a mature and very well managed garden. The garden area includes a good-sized pool with plenty of loungers / deckchairs. Nice touches such as a toilet by the pool area and a shower for rinsing down after a swim add to the experience. The views from the pool area over the surrounding forested mountains and valley are fantastic! There is also a fine games area, consisting of a 9 ‘hole’ mini-golf course, badminton court, swing ball and of course the ubiquitous set of ‘boules’, complete with somewhere to chuck them without fear of breaking windows, cars or anything else for that matter! Dotted around the property are numerous sitting areas, some open, some secluded. So it is not difficult to find somewhere to suit your mood. It is also worth mentioning that each apartment comes with its own gas grill. There is also a large charcoal based grill centrally placed by the main courtyard.
Completing this fantastic property is an equally fantastic manger, Jane. She knows the region extremely well and is able to offer advice and tips on just about anything that you will encounter in the area. If it is happening and Jane does not know about it, it probably is not worth bothering with!
Jane has mastered the art of being inconspicuously present (when she is there). Always available if something should arise or you have a question, otherwise leaving to enjoy your stay on the property.
Jane also prepared a lovely welcome meal on our arrival day. I have always been slightly skeptical to ‘welcome meals’ and have experience some interesting variations on the theme. No need to worry here, we enjoyed a fantastic home cooked meal (3 courses!) all washed down with ample quantities of local wine. The local rose is good, as you might well expect given the area. This was the perfect start and really helped to set the tone for coming week.
The surrounding area is peaceful and tranquil. The nearest town, Mons, is a short drive away and contains a very nice bakery amongst the usual smattering of restaurants and other local shops. There is also a beautiful town square with fantastic panoramic views over the surrounding countryside. A word of caution about the bakery, he is the only one for about 15km and knows it. Do not expect to be picking up your croissants and baguette at 7.30. However, the quality is excellent and makes up for the wait for breakfast.
As a previous reviewer wrote, I am slightly loathe to post this review as I want to keep the place to myself. But it deserves your serious consideration of you are after a wonderful, relaxing and tranquil break in an idyllic setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & standard
Liked least: Nothing to fault!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing athmosphere and amazing views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vaasa
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hailsham
Reviewed September 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claire H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, stylish retreat in incredibly picturesque location”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I booked the Loge du Chauffeur on the strength of past reviews but found out that it had been bought by new owners so was apprehensive about whether it would meet expectations. I needn't have worried: I have no idea what it was like before but I found it an amazing place for a holiday. Jane's welcome dinner helped, as it was a perfect slice of Provence. The glass of rose she served me set the tone for the week....

I cannot fault the gite; it's beautiful, well equipped, well laid out. The pool is fantastic and the layout of the property was wonderful. Lots of places to sit and soak up the sun and the amazing view. Beautiful villages nearby, and don't miss the bakery in Mons; they have the best croissants I've ever tasted.

Only sad that I booked one week, not two......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Picturesque location
Liked least: Nothing really although it's a bit of a drive to most places
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jomatthew...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“As good as it gets.......”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After bravely deciding to ditch the plane and train it in to Nice from the
Uk we were nervous we had made the right decision as we left to venture up into the hills....but wow....from the welcome dinner to the pool, to the discreet but complete support from Jane the manager ...to dolphins in Antibes to people watching at le petit bonheur in mons the holiday was just perfect....which with two young children is an achievement.
We would totally recommend mas du Bois to anyone looking for stylish, tranquil,authentic France....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetcarr...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Have just spent a wonderful week staying at Mas du Bois Dore in the one-bedroomed La Cour gite. It is in the most perfect location on the hillside but within easy reach of the fashionable resorts of Cannes, Nice and even Monte Carlo is within travelling distance.

The gite itself was well equipped, tasteful French decor and lots of outdoor sitting areas. We were made to feel most welcome by Jane the on-site manager who is passionate about sharing her local knowledge which helped us get the most from our stay.

It was the perfect vacation which allowed us to get out and explore the local area whilst also being able to relax in the comfortable setting of the Mas du Bois Dore. Next year will be booking a two week break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and comfort
Liked least: Winding hillside roads which were often single track
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing